+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2

    Question Creating Bending Linetype

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All,

    Generally for drawing cable, I use a p-line (generally curve or spline fit) and change my global width to the diameter of that cable. This is usually exactly what I need to show. HOWEVER, when a complicated drawing arises with several different types of cable in one particular area, I have to differentiate the cables by altering their appearance for ease of tracing that wire in a black and white printout.

    Before, I would offset the polyline to either side, close in the ends and fill with a hatch. This works ok, but is time consuming and the hatch doesn't rotate relative to the line.

    I tried to be clever with the express tools linetype creator, but autocad won out. See Pic for my attempt.

    It looks ok zoomed out (except for the dots in the center of the line, which need to go). However, when zoomed in, the curve is actually an assembly of straight segments that overlap on the inside and don't meet up on the outside of the curve.

    Can someone point me in the right direction for instructions, tips, pointers for creating "bending" linetypes? I've already accepted that I'm probably going to have to somewhat learn lisp... hit me with it.

    Thanks!
    Kyle
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,378

    Default

    Wouldn't the use of splines be more appropriate?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    JGA's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Not sure how you would go about the problem above.
    How about putting your fat polyline on a layer that has a transparent value, so that others underneath are still visible? You could still have thin polylines either side with no transparent value.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Our customers receive hard copies and cad files of all drawings, which must adhere to their layer standards. So adding, changing a layer is a no-no. The spline method is the best I have right now. (spline the center line, offset half of diameter on either side, delete center, close off the ends, trim all in the background, hatch).

    I was really just looking for an easier method. So if this will not work for what i'm doing right now, can I still learn how to make a linetype that bends? I saw this linetype when searching for and answer and knowing how to make a linetype similar to this would be perfect for cables!
    Attached Images
    Last edited by KyleA724; 1st Aug 2013 at 07:36 pm. Reason: of to off

  5. #5
    Super Member prodromosm's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    608

    Default

    I find this here http://www.cadlispandtips.com/2013/0...kerb-line.html .Maybe help you..


  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,045

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KyleA724 View Post
    Before, I would offset the polyline to either side, close in the ends and fill with a hatch. This works ok, but is time consuming and the hatch doesn't rotate relative to the line.
    Perhaps modify your way slightly by making a diagonal block, and then place it along the centre polyline using Measure. This is almost hatching but does rotate with the curves.
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,378

    Default

    Kyle:

    I can point you to a custom lisp routine that will align a hatch pattern to fit a curved path if you are interested.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,445

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by KyleA724 View Post
    I saw this linetype when searching for and answer and knowing how to make a linetype similar to this would be perfect for cables!
    I created that linetype for a client, and I responded to your blog post comment, here.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

Similar Threads

  1. creating new linetype
    By soozyq in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2011, 08:03 pm
  2. Creating linetype
    By diablo98 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2009, 11:06 pm
  3. Help with creating a linetype
    By Chudwick in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Nov 2008, 02:23 am
  4. creating new linetype
    By chelsea1307 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2008, 11:11 am
  5. creating a linetype
    By jjjgirling in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2006, 12:26 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts