+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Lines and grid coordniation.??? Please help

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello Everyone.I wonder if anyone can help.

    I am using Autocad 2012 and have found an online tutorial site very informative.

    The assignment in beginners lesson 1-2, drawing a simple line square, has me baffled
    As they mentioned in lesson1-1 that understanding coordinates is very important.

    Firstly, in 1-2, they ask the reader to select the line tool and then enter the first coordinate of 1,2 as the starting point of the drawing.
    Then the following entries 3,2 3,4 1,4 and 1,2 are entered and sure enough a perfect square is created.

    My first problem is:
    As many times I enter a starting point of 1,2 the line always starts in the same place. However, if I start again and enter any other figure the line starts in seemingly unrelated positions.

    The second problem is:
    the coordinates given in this exercise are not equal and should not create a square in my uneducated opinion.
    Try as I might I cant find the logical relation between the grid and the coordinates.

    For example:
    The starting entry - 1,2 starts 2 grid lines from the +Y axis and 4 lines from the +x axis.

    Please could someone help me understand this problem so I can move on.

    I have scanned all the tutorials and videos I could find including AutoCad for dummies and cant find the answer.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Look at the attached and see if it explains things for you.
    Attached Images
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OooWeh View Post
    The second problem is:
    the coordinates given in this exercise are not equal and should not create a square in my uneducated opinion.
    Try as I might I cant find the logical relation between the grid and the coordinates.
    if you examine the differences in the x and y coordinates for successive points, you will see the logic that will create a square.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Watch out for Absolute coordinates # and Relative coordinates.
    AutoCAD used to default to Absolute and now defaults to Relative @.
    Last edited by JD Mather; 3rd Aug 2013 at 11:12 pm.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Rkent.
    Thanks so much for your effort.
    The penny has dropped.
    What I realized was that the grid actually appears in 1 half increments.
    I am no longer confused.

    Thanks

    Marc

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks Eldon.

    Got it

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks JD

    Your advise really helped.
    I can now safely progress to section 1.2.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This forum is certainly one of the best I have had the pleasure of visiting.

Similar Threads

  1. SNAP, GRID, and grid lines
    By jackson6612 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2011, 05:07 pm
  2. Horizontal Grid Lines Behind Attributes
    By gsksun4 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2010, 05:04 pm
  3. Labeling column grid lines
    By reyems in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2009, 04:33 pm
  4. Grid lines displayed instead of Grid Dots
    By aka_norm in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2007, 08:08 am
  5. Show grid Lines??
    By puzzled in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2006, 03:57 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts