Problem with annotative and viewport scales

bpdennah

Hello,

I am using AutoCad LT 2010 and I want to change the scales from ratios (shown like - 1:10,1:20 etc.) to actual measurements (1/4"=1').

Also while using these ratios when scaling my viewports I am confused about what "# printing unit = # drawing unit". It seems straight forward as I am using Imperial units so you'd think it would, for example, mean that 1" = 1" - shown on the scale list as 1:1 -(because I am using and 11'x17' sheet). But when scaled it is clearly not correct. After doing a bit of research the closest thing that I could come up with is that a 1:1 ratio would mean 1"=1'. Is this correct?

I am new to AutoCad and I am self taught, thanks for any input.

If your Scale list contains scales like 1:10 & 1:20 then you've probably started the drawing using a metric template, which will likely cause other problems later if you're doing Imperial drawings. I think that also explains why printing 1:1 doesn't give the expected result... (1 unit is probably printing 1cm, instead of 1 inch). Perhaps copy/paste your drawing into an Imperial template (acad.dwt), and then try printing again.

Yep, that would most likely be what has happened as I am updating someone else's floor plan. Is there a way of copying the layers and the layouts all at once into the new drawing ? Or would I have to make the layouts that I made into templates so that they can be used in the other file? (if thats possible)

Hello,

I am using AutoCad LT 2010 and I want to change the scales from ratios (shown like - 1:10,1:20 etc.) to actual measurements (1/4"=1').