Scaling a floor plan in AutoCAD 2014

DonL

I'm new to AutoCAD and I'm trying to scale a floor plan (the outer edge is the land perimeter). I have tried just about everything I could find on the Internet but can't seem to get it to work:cry:. I attached a copy for reference.

Basically I'm trying to scale it at 6.85 x 11 meters so that it will be accurate.

I would really appreciate some help.

1st floor.dwg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• DonL

• ReMark

• Dana W

• steven-g

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm not at a computer right now to open the DWG. but SCALE > [R]reference (watch the command line) should always work if there are known measurements in the drawing.

There does not appear to be any dimensions on the drawing. Of the objects that are included do you know the dimensions of any one of them? It looks like the property line, if that's what it is, has been designated by a hatch pattern. A bit unorthodox in my opinion. Do you have the site measurements?

I tried drawing the dimensions and then selecting the layout and scaling but I must be doing something wrong.

ReMark, I only know the dimensions of the property lines. That's why I need to scale it so that I can figure out the rest of the dimensions. It's a Japanese house that I have a PDF of. I converted it in Illustrator and then exported as a DWG.

The site measurements are 6.85 x 11 meters.

It appears your drawing is opening in imperial units (inches) not in metric units.

6.85x11 would not be the dimensions of the property lines. Those would be the dimensions of the house itself.

I find it odd that when I move the block it suddenly depicts a red layer with much more detail on it yet I cannot seem to access it. Maybe that's a fluke introduced by the conversion process?