+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 69
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can use the SCALE command to increase/decrease the size of an object.

    I used the ARC command and roughly followed the outline I traced using the polyline command. It's a "trial and error" approach but no one is going to be checking you on how well you approximated the shape of a leaf.

    Draw all your geometry in model space at FULL size. Only when you are satisfied with the results and want to start adding text and/or dimensions do you have to give any real thought as to what goes where. They can go in either model space or in your layout. Each has its own pluses and minuses.

    Using a layout means you'll be using one or more viewports. It is the viewport that a scale is assigned to. I can provide you with a link with more information about viewports if you wish.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mir Ali's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP DV6000 Laptop
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Yes sir please i would like to know more about the tools and tricks that i have to go through. Kindly do share the links.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    Viewports and Setting Scale thread can be found here...

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ight=viewports
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    Mir Ali: Making any progress?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mir Ali's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP DV6000 Laptop
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Mir Ali: Making any progress?
    I've traced with the image and it has an area of 45 sq.ft. Lets i want to take it to 1500 acres (65,340,000sq.ft), so i tried this 45x= 65,340,000sq.ft gives me 1452000 and i tried scaling to this number but no use. I maybe able to get to the desired area but i want to learn how the scaling works in AutoCAD.

    I am working on 1 to 1 annotative scale. Thanks !

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    You scaled your leaf using that number (1452000) but you did not get the result you were looking for?

    Annotative scaling is going to affect how your linetypes look in your layout and is normally applied to your text, dimensions, hatches, blocks, and multileaders.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mir Ali's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP DV6000 Laptop
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You scaled your leaf using that number (1452000) but you did not get the result you were looking for?

    Annotative scaling is going to affect how your linetypes look in your layout and is normally applied to your text, dimensions, hatches, blocks, and multileaders.
    Yes i scaled with 1452000 but it won't work. I tried putting ' and ".

    Should i go on working in model space or do have to make sure of some other certain things. Like i want to finish my work ASAP then move on the plotting part. Thank you sir !

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    I don't see why it shouldn't work but your use of the word "and" has me wondering just how you are going about scaling your object.

    You continue to work in model space until you are satisfied you have everything completed. Given that you appear to want to use annotative scaling the only things that go in your layout would be a viewport along with your title block and border along with any title block text.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Mir Ali's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP DV6000 Laptop
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I don't see why it shouldn't work but your use of the word "and" has me wondering just how you are going about scaling your object.

    You continue to work in model space until you are satisfied you have everything completed. Given that you appear to want to use annotative scaling the only things that go in your layout would be a viewport along with your title block and border along with any title block text.
    Maybe you want to see this...
    1.JPG


    2.JPG

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,368

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm not seeing a problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Office layout plan directory
    By BIGAL in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2012, 01:33 am
  2. Floor plan layout problem
    By MisterJingles in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th May 2009, 11:19 am
  3. Making the Floor Plan less noticable
    By c0cl3c in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2009, 03:22 pm
  4. Where can Download restaurant layout plan (dwg)?
    By scottiegreen41 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2008, 05:24 pm
  5. making a 3d model out of an archy plan
    By neyoski11 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2007, 12:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts