Inserting a title block in a 3D drawing

Mike G

Hello,

I'm having trouble inserting my title block in a 3D drawing.

I'm kind of new to 3D modelling but it's probably a small mistake i'm making.

I started with my view in SE Isometric, drawed something and then I copy/pasted my title block from another drawing, all in modelspace.

My drawing is 3D and my title block is 2D but in the wrong position.

How do I solve this?

Greetings,

Mike

qokAs2i.jpg

You can solve your problem by utilizing a layout with at least one viewport.

Your title block and border will go in the layout at a 1:1 scale.

You create a viewport which allows you to see the objects that are back in model space. Think of a viewport as you would a window in your home. It is the viewport that a scale is applied to.

Layouts may also be referred to as paper space layouts. There is a tutorial here at CADTutor that will take you through an exercise involving paper space. Find it here...

http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/autocad/paper-space-exercise.php

I agree with ReMark. Once you activate a Viewport, you have full navigation abilities so you can zoom, pan, and 3D orbit around to get the desired orientation of the 3D object. This does not effect your Titleblock in Paperspace at all.

I think i'm getting the hang of it.

So what i'm thinking is that all the static stuff (like the border, title block) goes in the paperspace, and the model itself goes in modelspace.

So it would look something like this?

Uof70B2.jpg

Also, it is possible to widen the sheet offset (the dashed square) in the paperspace? Or is this decided by the printer driver?

I think i'm getting the hang of it.

So what i'm thinking is that all the static stuff (like the border, title block) goes in the paperspace, and the model itself goes in modelspace.

So it would look something like this?

Uof70B2.jpg

Also, it is possible to widen the sheet offset (the dashed square) in the paperspace? Or is this decided by the printer driver?