+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member sandiegophil's Avatar
    Computer Details
    sandiegophil's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64bit
    Computer:
    HP z640
    CPU:
    E5-2609 v4 1.7GHz
    RAM:
    64gb
    Graphics:
    nvidia m3000
    Primary Storage:
    ssd
    Monitor:
    2-Z27s
    Discipline
    Civil
    sandiegophil's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager - County of San Diego DPW
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    265

    Default Problem applying render materials to pipes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I have a large pipe network. All works well with one exception. I am trying to apply a render material to the pipes and it renders very poorly. I drew a cube and sphere next to the network at an appropriate size, applied the same material and the cube and sphere render great but the pipes are nasty. I tried adjusting my ucs to one of the pipes and reapplying the material but I get the same result. Then I drew a cylinder in plan view the same size and length as a pipe and it worked great too. What am I missing? All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Phil

  2. #2
    Senior Member Emigrato's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    Emigrato's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Cisco CCNA
    Using
    Map 3D 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    165

    Default

    Seems like that pipe is not a unique polyface mesh, so the render applies to each single 3Dface, sir.


  3. #3
    Senior Member sandiegophil's Avatar
    Computer Details
    sandiegophil's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64bit
    Computer:
    HP z640
    CPU:
    E5-2609 v4 1.7GHz
    RAM:
    64gb
    Graphics:
    nvidia m3000
    Primary Storage:
    ssd
    Monitor:
    2-Z27s
    Discipline
    Civil
    sandiegophil's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager - County of San Diego DPW
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    265

    Default

    If anyone is interested I have a ticket open with Autodesk regarding this issue. They tried everything I did and their 'solution' was to explode all pipes and structures, then apply materials. This is now a confirmed bug in 2012, 2013 and 2014. Although their solution works I do not think it is an appropriate one.

    Regards,
    Phil

  4. #4
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Try applying the material in a plan view (where you said it looks good) and then convert the pipe to a block. Orient the block so that the pipe is in the correct position. I have used this technique in the past. Controlling material mapping in AutoCAD has become very difficult in recent versions. ~ Lee M.

  5. #5
    Senior Member sandiegophil's Avatar
    Computer Details
    sandiegophil's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64bit
    Computer:
    HP z640
    CPU:
    E5-2609 v4 1.7GHz
    RAM:
    64gb
    Graphics:
    nvidia m3000
    Primary Storage:
    ssd
    Monitor:
    2-Z27s
    Discipline
    Civil
    sandiegophil's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager - County of San Diego DPW
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Lee,

    I will certainly give that a try. The pipes and structures look lousy in plan and model views. The manually created cylinders and boxes look great in both when rendered. Also, my model has over 300 pipes and ~90 structures. Thanks for your reply, much appreciated,

    Regards,
    Phil

Similar Threads

  1. Applying Materials to Single Face
    By jbctln in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2012, 12:47 pm
  2. Applying materials
    By roof11 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2010, 02:15 pm
  3. Render Tab for Materials
    By numberOCD in forum MEP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Jul 2010, 03:25 pm
  4. applying materials
    By bjenk8100 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2010, 09:27 pm
  5. Applying materials to walls
    By _E_ in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2009, 02:47 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts