+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    263

    Default Bending a 2D object

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,
    Is there any way I can bend a 2D object? I have a drawing of a hydraulic hose running straight in the x axis. What I want to do is to be able is to bend the hose around 90 degress (to fit in a case) without altering the overall length & width. Poor explanation but hopefully someone will be able to give me an answer
    I have attached a simple drawing that should explain the problem. I know the lengths don't match, this is purely for illustration
    Thanks
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,442

    Default

    Sounds like a job more suited for Inventor (i.e. - Tube and Pipe package of Inventor Professional).

    Do you know what the minimum bend radius is for the hydraulic hose you have selected?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    263

    Default

    I should probably clarify.....I'm not actually drawing the hose itself, just the packaging (cnc machined foam) that it will go in. I would like to get it around 100mm radius. I have files of the shapes layed flat but I need to get them within the confines of the packaging ideally without a lot of re drawing as time is against me
    Cheers for the quick reply, as ever

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iainlines View Post
    Hi all,
    Is there any way I can bend a 2D object? I have a drawing of a hydraulic hose running straight in the x axis. What I want to do is to be able is to bend the hose around 90 degress (to fit in a case) without altering the overall length & width. Poor explanation but hopefully someone will be able to give me an answer
    I have attached a simple drawing that should explain the problem. I know the lengths don't match, this is purely for illustration
    Thanks
    ReMark is correct, Inventor could do it easily, but you can fake it, if all you need is a graphic representation in Autocad.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    263

    Default

    Thanks Dadgad, but I don't think I'm being very clear. The lengths DO need to match....they just didn't in the quick sketch I knocked up. I want to take a rectangle and bend it without altering the length or width. Possible?

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iainlines View Post
    Thanks Dadgad, but I don't think I'm being very clear. The lengths DO need to match....they just didn't in the quick sketch I knocked up. I want to take a ractangle and bend it without altering the length of width. Possible?
    I scaled and offset from the centerline of your sample hose, so that the length of the centerline of the new hose, and the OD are the same as the straight sample. Perhaps you want to use parametric constraints to constrain the bent x or y lengths too?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    263

    Default

    What I would like in an ideal world would be to draw what I need to straight acorss the X the bend it to produce something like the attached
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,442

    Default

    Keep dreaming.

    Why is it necessary to foam pack hydraulic hose? Can't it just be "blocked"?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    263

    Default

    Bah! Didn't think so. Oh well
    These are hoses for a helicopter. The are placed within the foam then a Pelican case for transport and storage. Customer requirements

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,442

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So the hoses are that delicate? And they are being used on helicopters? Remind me not to ride in one of them.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Bending Tubes?
    By crevio in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2009, 04:24 pm
  2. Bending Text
    By Nick@TE-Direct in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2009, 02:56 pm
  3. Tube Bending
    By indigoxtreme02 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2009, 01:19 pm
  4. -bending???
    By TheNewGuy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2009, 02:23 am
  5. Bending objects
    By Haz in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2009, 04:14 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts