+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default Linetype Problems

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My batting linetype was showing up perfectly until I opened my drawing file today. Now it shows up as a dotted line. I tried MSLTSCALE, PSLTSCALE, LTSCALE, etc. I tried changing the scales manually.

    When I go to "load" it again it says "Bad definition of FENCELINE1 at line 119 of file / Users/***********/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCad 2013/R19.0/enu/support/acad.lin"

    I can't even access as far as "Library" via Finder.

    How do I reload ACAD.LIN altogether or make it work?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Is this a custom linetype dependent upon a shape file?

    Have you been making edits to the acad.lin file recently?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    No to both. I don't know much about uploading custom hatches, linetypes, etc. so I would assume the file is just corrupt but I don't know how to fix it....

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Can you put the definition here?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    What does that mean?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Go to the .lin file that contains the definition for the batting linetype and post it here using code tags.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The linetype definition file you have should look like this. If it doesn't then it is wrong.

    *FENCELINE1,Fenceline circle ----0-----0----0-----0----0-----0--
    A,.25,-.1,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,x=-.1,s=.1],-.1,1

    BTW...ltypeshp.shx is not a font file but a shape file I believe. CIRC1 is a shape included in the file.
    Last edited by ReMark; 7th Oct 2013 at 07:25 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thats okay i don't even know how to open the acad.lin file and i cant even find it when i search my computer..i'm VERY new as you can tell! thanks anyways - i think i'll skip the linetypes and let you answer questions for more advanced users!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mb607 View Post
    My batting linetype was showing up perfectly until I opened my drawing file today. Now it shows up as a dotted line. I tried MSLTSCALE, PSLTSCALE, LTSCALE, etc. I tried changing the scales manually.

    When I go to "load" it again it says "Bad definition of FENCELINE1 at line 119 of file / Users/***********/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCad 2013/R19.0/enu/support/acad.lin"

    I can't even access as far as "Library" via Finder.

    How do I reload ACAD.LIN altogether or make it work?
    Is where you will find your acad.lin, just double-click and it should open in Notepad, scroll till you find the Batting Linetype definition, Copy & Paste to CADTutor or just use "Go Advanced" at lower right of reply box. then "Manage Attachments" browse to the acad.lin file and upload the entire file.

    We are going nowhere and will get you right in there working on linetypes in no time.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Linetype Problems
    By kiwinz in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th Jun 2010, 10:35 pm
  2. Linetype problems...Model vs Paper
    By Hoover in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st May 2008, 09:47 pm
  3. Linetype Problems
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2007, 10:35 am
  4. LT 2002 linetype problems
    By yodapod in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2004, 08:35 pm
  5. Linetype problems
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2003, 03:22 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts