Caustic Volume

Spumantii

I'm new here but I have been here many times during searches and have found answers consistently. I hope to be able to add to the community in any way I can.

I am using Mental Ray in Max 2014, trying to recreate this effect and test other caustic effects:

hqdefault.jpg

I am relatively new to using photons, but as far as I've gotten is setting up the scene with the following objects: A box->shell interior as the set area, a few objects with mr A&D glass (physical), a light, and a plane in front of the light with a mental ray material applied (transmat photon in the photon slot as shown and seen in the description of the youtube vid here).

I have had varying results through a trial and error process of using different light types and settings, materials, using the plane in front of the light, using parti volume in the scene. I have been playing with the manual photon settings on the light to some success I can see the caustics on surfaces but I can't seem to create the volumetric effect.

I am looking into the use of parti volume but it does not seem to suit the examples, if anyone knows some tricks using the photon and photon volume channels of a mental ray material I think I need some tips. The example linked above talks about a plane in front of the light with a material that will somehow convert the photons to light volume beyond it. Maybe something changed since then, but I cannot reproduce it.

I have been searching and not finding and hope someone has some experience with creating an effect like this. Which light types did you use? Did you use parti volume somehow? A mental ray shader?

I noticed the time required to cast photons varied greatly between light types using the same manual settings, with photometrics taking longest.

I will post some results and describe particular settings:

caustic_trial.jpg