+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Proper Way To String Dimensions....

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone,
    I'm currently having a debate within my drafting dept. as to which string of dims is more correct.....any input would be great..

    The 1st pic with the dim that is pulled off the line, is viewed as sloppy and lazy.

    Your thoughts?

    Thanks!




  2. #2
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    The "proper" way is the way the guy/gal that signs the paycheck wants it and/or the client wants it.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Barneel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    123

    Default

    ^^^^^^^^^^
    This

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Barneel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Either ask for a set of company drawing standards, or do it one way and if they complain update it in the next revision

  5. #5
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    I think sloppy and lazy are harsh terms to describe something as minor as that. That placement is wrong but I would find that terminology a bit extreme. Think about it. You've got a string of 100 dimensions and one of them is pulled out an inch from the others. Wouldn't you want to align with the other 99?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    The second image is the most common, and the most correct method. Every drafting class I have ever taken has taught it this way. The way the boss wants things done, whether correct or not, as long as it is legal, is the correct way.

    When one is laying out dimensions in several rows, along the same side of an object, having a bunch of them off line makes it hard to read. Don't argue that your example is only one line. Does one wear a shirt with one button undone in the middle of a run of buttons?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    No one in the company you work for has a good old book about architectural drafting? This question was answered back when your great grandfather was alive.

    Here, I'll recommend one, no, make that two.

    1. Architectural Design and Drafting by Alan Jefferis and David A. Madsen

    2. Architectural Graphic Standards by Ramsey and Sleeper

    The second book is practically considered a "bible" for architectural drafting and design. You may now bow your heads.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,533

    Default

    I agree with Dana in the 2nd option. I always show some type of leader when the dim text is pulled out of the string.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    I agree with Dana in the 2nd option. I always show some type of leader when the dim text is pulled out of the string.
    The main point is to never pull the dimension line out of the contiguous string. In Architectural drafting, there is a tiny bit of room for self expression, so it is acceptable, when the text won't fit between the extension lines, to either place the dimension text beside its extension lines if there is room, or if it is the end of a line of dimensions, and acceptable to place the text below or above the dimension line, with a leader.

    When I have to place dimension text above or below the dimension line, I usually try to get the leader (straight) to parallel the angle of the arch ticks, and bisect the space between them. Also, I match these dimension text items to the horizontal (or vertical) alignment of other dimension text items I have had to move in a similar manner, which are in the same string.

    If working in my shop, a draftsman would have to care about the appearance of the drawings as well as the accuracy. Drafting is part craft and part art. Aligning dimension text is not all about appearance. It is about ease of reading, and locating information by eye, quickly. If a drawing is all jumbled up, it is very difficult to read.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  10. #10
    Super Member Tuns's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tuns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64-bit)
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3-2120
    RAM:
    4.0 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_map View Post
    The "proper" way is the way the guy/gal that signs the paycheck wants it and/or the client wants it.
    That is entirely wrong as there are such things as "industry standards" that by far trump company standards. The second option is clearly the correct way here. Separating it will only confuse someone else when they have to read it.
    Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Similar Threads

  1. Getting Number of String inside a string
    By Ahmeds in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2012, 01:13 pm
  2. Proper way of creating a block?
    By neuri in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 24th May 2011, 08:38 am
  3. proper way with Open Function
    By Tharwat in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th Jun 2010, 11:31 pm
  4. Placing a String of Dimensions in AutoCAD
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2006, 08:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts