+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jbgraphic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Motherboard:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i5 2500K
    RAM:
    8gig
    Graphics:
    ati V4800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 1T
    Monitor:
    2 x Dell P2311h
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the hints everyone.
    I have learned some little tricks from this one.

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Does the instructor get a failing grade for posting an assignment with missing information? How is it that this sort of thing is so common? Are instructors in too much of a rush or are they just not paying attention?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Looks to me like it is book author's mistake, not the instructor. (although you would think that unless this is the first time the instructor assigned this particular problem - they would be aware of the missing information and assumptions)
    In any case, everyone makes mistakes, but we generally don't have 10's 100's 1000's scrutinizing our work.

    On the flip side of that - I think I have a pretty solid figure of only 10% of any CAD users know what they are doing.
    I have not seen any evidence that instructors are any better than the rest.

    In close tolerance machining we expect complete and accurate drawings, but in architectural, civil, structural.... I doubt much would get built without making educated/experience driven assumptions. There are times when decisions need to be made using incomplete information (or we can sit on our hands and do nothing, except complain about the missing information).
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #24
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jbgraphic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Motherboard:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i5 2500K
    RAM:
    8gig
    Graphics:
    ati V4800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 1T
    Monitor:
    2 x Dell P2311h
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default

    It is most defiantly a text book mistake, our instructor is very good about helping but I think this is the first time with this text and we are finding lots of mistakes.


    Can I bother you guys for some more help

    I just need a link or two that helps explain how to start this drawing. I can draw it in solidworks just fine but in AutoCAD just having issues getting started.

    9.34.jpg

    Thanks.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Are we missing more dimensions again?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jbgraphic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Motherboard:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i5 2500K
    RAM:
    8gig
    Graphics:
    ati V4800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 1T
    Monitor:
    2 x Dell P2311h
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default

    I don't think so . But who knows ....

  7. #27
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    Again there is a fair bit of info not given, I would start with the base (2 holes) then draw the middle section as perpendicular and the top running 90 degrees off that following the sloping edge, and finally thicken up the parts and then from a front view rotate the center and top pieces by 30 degrees.

  8. #28
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jbgraphic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Motherboard:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i5 2500K
    RAM:
    8gig
    Graphics:
    ati V4800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 1T
    Monitor:
    2 x Dell P2311h
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default

    I don't follow? So draw every perpendicular and then rotate?

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    Again there is a fair bit of info not given, I would start with the base (2 holes) then draw the middle section as perpendicular and the top running 90 degrees off that following the sloping edge, and finally thicken up the parts and then from a front view rotate the center and top pieces by 30 degrees.

  9. #29
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    This one is trivial compared to last one?

    trivial.png

    TSS.jpg
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jbgraphic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Motherboard:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i5 2500K
    RAM:
    8gig
    Graphics:
    ati V4800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 1T
    Monitor:
    2 x Dell P2311h
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    screen-shot.jpg
    In Solidworks no problem I drew it easily.

    In AutoCAD not so much, I think I am over thinking it. This is what I have so far, I have not done the 2 small counterbore holes yet as they are easy once drawing is close to done.

    I agree it should be easy, my brain is just getting in the way I think


    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    This one is trivial compared to last one?

    Attachment 44999

Similar Threads

  1. [3dmax] Windows problem and realistic view problem :(
    By Mena__99 in forum 3ds Max General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2013, 08:54 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2011, 06:58 am
  3. Bold Text bugging me.
    By Skeeps in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Oct 2007, 12:23 pm
  4. This is bugging me... please help!
    By ChadPoehland in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2006, 09:23 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts