+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member SAFeSTeR's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SAFeSTeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon @ 3.20Ghz
    RAM:
    12 GB
    Discipline
    Utilities
    SAFeSTeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    Water main replacement schemes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    256

    Default Text in dynamic block (rotation)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I'm just trying my hand at learning to create some dynamic blocks, but need a solution to keep the text unrotated. I have attached a file of my troublesome file for you experts to look at, if possible.

    PileTest.dwg

    The file is basically a plan view of 4x foundation columns for overhead line towers (pylons). These towers can be different sizes and at different orientations, hence the dynamic options I have applied. However, when I rotate the block I want the text to rotate with it (to keep aligned with each column A, B, C, D), but I don't want rotation to be applied to the text, if that makes sense?

    Any ideas on the best way to achieve this? I have a feeling that constraints might work, although I know nothing about them, but these usually lag my PC. At present I am having to explode the block and apply a 0 rotation to all the text.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    Read post #8 in this thread, he gives you exactly what you need to accomplish what you're after:
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...l=1#post331987

    This member helped me out back in 2010 with the same inquiry. It basically comes down to selecting the Move parameter applied to the Text, and not selecting the text itself. Chain Actions must be enabled as well. Hope this helps.

    - Tannar
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member SAFeSTeR's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SAFeSTeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon @ 3.20Ghz
    RAM:
    12 GB
    Discipline
    Utilities
    SAFeSTeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    Water main replacement schemes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Great, will look into this soon

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member SAFeSTeR's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SAFeSTeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon @ 3.20Ghz
    RAM:
    12 GB
    Discipline
    Utilities
    SAFeSTeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    Water main replacement schemes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Unfortunately this didn't help me much in my example.

    The first time I tried it the text rotated with each foundation, but they remained in the same orientation, i.e., in the NE, SE, SW, NW positions as they are shown in my example link. I need them to rotate with the tower legs (A, B, C, D) but remain in a 0 rotation themselves.

    So I tried again and it got even worse. The text rotated, but again in the manner described above, however, the foundations seemed to rotate around a completely different axis point and separated from the text until I got back to the original point (360 degrees).
    I guess I will need to think about this and experiment with different dynamic setups, even if I don't achieve the desired result I should hopefully teach myself some new.

    Until then it will be easier for me just to stick to my original method of exploding and manually applying 0 rotation to the text.

    Thanks anyway guys.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    I now see the results you're after.

    This is just me thinking out loud but I wonder how the text would react with two rotate parameters - one that's already in place which controls the entire set of objects, then four more, each controlling the text around the corresponding column. Never tried it but seems like it might work.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Senior Member SAFeSTeR's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SAFeSTeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon @ 3.20Ghz
    RAM:
    12 GB
    Discipline
    Utilities
    SAFeSTeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    Water main replacement schemes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Yep, that is the kind of thing I want to experiment with. I'm not sure that will work but some kind of combination might.

  7. #7
    Super Member Tuns's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tuns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64-bit)
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3-2120
    RAM:
    4.0 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    784

    Default

    That's pretty much what I just did here.
    Last edited by Tuns; 27th Nov 2013 at 05:25 pm.
    Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

  8. #8
    Senior Member SAFeSTeR's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SAFeSTeR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon @ 3.20Ghz
    RAM:
    12 GB
    Discipline
    Utilities
    SAFeSTeR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    Water main replacement schemes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Thanks, but can you save in 2010 format please?

  9. #9
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It should work as described in the thread given by Tannar in post #2 above, shown in leg B in the attached drawing, you do need to be careful what is and isn't selected, and where things are placed, and that parameters are chained, and that actions are not selected and parameters are , and that text is only selected with the move actions. Other than that it's a piece of cake
    Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Block Rotation
    By RFRUSSO in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2014, 04:23 pm
  2. Dynamic block with Atribute rotation
    By notkathrine in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2013, 08:31 pm
  3. Attribute rotation in dynamic block
    By JeepMaster in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2013, 03:12 pm
  4. Dynamic Block - Rotation Parameter and Text
    By tzframpton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2012, 05:24 pm
  5. Dynamic Block - Keep Text same rotation
    By guitarguy1685 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2011, 06:11 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts