+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2

    Smile AutoCAD assignment

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I just want to know the steps how to do this (referred to attached file). I got dizzy
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Use the RECTANGLE command to draw the contour (please check on Tutorial section for coordinates input).
    Next call HATCH to fill it. However, I'm not sure if that hatch pattern is shipped by default with AutoCAD.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    I think that that pattern was done by offsetting lines, and trimming out the bits that were not needed.

    There is an anomaly in the pattern that would not be drawn if a hatch pattern were to be used.

    For those without too much to do, hunt the anomaly

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Good eyes eldon, took me a minute to find it.
    I am inclined to agree with you, in fact I have drawn it that way before.
    Once drawing some Weld Mesh on a fabrication drawing I decided to do it like that.
    Looked pretty cool, when it was done. A bit tedious though I must admit!
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    I think the anomaly is more of an error or 3 (could be wrong). Anyhow's here is a hatch pattern to try. Change the extension to .pat and drop it in the hatch pattern folder
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    The only trouble with giving the OP a hatch pattern is that they will never be able to reproduce the lines for their assignment.

    Also, they will never have the experience of offsetting and trimming, which was the whole point of an assignment.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,038

    Default

    Who in their right mind (sorry Dadgad ) would draw something like that, life is too short, I started, got too about 10 lines, and gave up with boredom. My advise would be for something like this, learn how to create hatch patterns, you also don't get anomolies with a hatch pattern. But you are correct it is a good exercise for learning offset and trim, or even figuring out the 4 lines that are repeated and just doing copy and paste.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    However, what would be clever and show a bit of thought is to isolate the repeating pattern, make a block of it and then to multiple copy or array that to fill in the area.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    If you do not practise, then you will not have the finger agility to do other things.

    Babies being brought up on i-Pads have lost the grasping ability that most learn when young, and now have difficulty holding pens and eating implements

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Barneel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Seems like such an excessive offsetting and trimming exercise, lol. That's gunna take days.


    I guess the most basic way of doing it would be to use the RECTANGLE > specify first point > DIM > 200 > 200

    Then draw a set of vertical LINEs at spacings of 10, and once you've got enough to fill the box ROTATE 45 degrees and align as per the drawing (note that there is a line going directly from corner to corner).

    Once aligned, select all your lines and use MIRROR, selecting the midpoint of the top and bottom lines of your rectangle as the mirror line and selecting NO when prompted to erase source objects.

    Now you have your base its time to get trimmin'. First you'll want to get rid of all the outer lines so I'd just select the rectangle, type TRIM and then select all the lines around the outside of the rectangle to trim them. Once you've done that select all the lines within the rectangle and TRIM them as per the drawing you've been given by just clicking on the parts of the lines you want erasing.


    Note:
    Its possible to skip the first few of steps and get by using a HATCH pattern on the 200x200 rectangle to get your grid. But this is probably the most fundamental way of doing it.
    If you need any of this in more detail, or if something is unclear just let us know.

Similar Threads

  1. please help with assignment
    By Badge in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2011, 04:35 pm
  2. Assignment
    By RichardCole in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2010, 07:34 pm
  3. Assignment help
    By peterg in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2010, 12:37 pm
  4. Help! with assignment
    By nitramt in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2009, 06:36 pm
  5. autocad assignment
    By ste555 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 07:09 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts