Student needing help choosing the right notebook

Artnature82

I'm an interior student working towards an MFA. This upcoming semester we will start using autocad/revit and a number of other possible programs for drafting. I've had the hardest time making a decision on the right notebook. My max budget is $4500 but that also must include at least a 27" monitor for class work at home. I'm strongly considering a completely maxed out 15 inch rmbp with 1tb hd and 2.6ghz quad processor. I see this notebook taking me past grad school and into the first few years as a designer. This will be the most money I have ever spent on a computer so I want to make a smart decision. Any thoughts? Or should I be looking at other notebooks?

Welcome to CADTutor. :)

What you want will probably be described as a MOBILE WORKSTATION.

Anything thus designated, should be able to handle just about anything you ask it to do.

Even so, they are not all created equal.

Take a look at Xi Computers.

http://www.xicomputer.com/products/PowerGoIntelXT.asp

http://www.xicomputer.com/products/Configure_prof.asp?model=PowerGoIntelXT

The second link describes customizable configuration options, where you will see 27" monitors too.

They get consistenly high marks for CAD work, and have been doing so since 1992.

With a budget like that, you should have no difficulty getting a great system.

No doubt lots of forum members will be weighing in with personal preferences and suggestions,

be patient, the information garnered will be well worth the frustration of a short delay.

Due to the holidays lots of regulars might be out of the loop, but I look forward to hearing

suggestions, given that you have a very doable budget. Typically people are hoping to spend

a lot less, and at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.

Edited by Dadgad

Thanks, for the suggestion. I was also looking at the m3800 and m4800 by dell. The Xi computers look pretty heftys, what's the build quality like?