+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Blender

  1. #1
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Blender

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Guys,
    Do any of you have any experience using Blender?
    Is it pretty easy to use and pick up?
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    No, it's not easy to use but it is powerful. The current GUI is WAY better than the original but if you put the time in to learn it does have potential.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Cool,
    What would you recommend as a starting program for this kind of modelling? I'm quite keen on learning as I'm growing slightly tired with the limitability and complexity of Solidworks' surface tools.
    I have an Autodesk Student account, so getting the software to learn shouldn't be too much of a problem.
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,817

    Default

    There are lots of great tutorials for Blender. Getting used to the difference between platforms is the biggest hurdle.


    Here are some links for Blender


    http://blenderartists.org/forum/forum.php


    http://www.blender.org/support/tutorials/


    As for Autodesk Software you might look at MAYA and 3DS Max


    http://www.autodesk.com/products/autodesk-maya/overview


    http://www.autodesk.com/products/aut...s-max/overview


    Not sure if this suits your needs but give Wings 3D a look.


    http://www.wings3d.com/


    http://www.wings3d.com/?page_id=25
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    Well if you have a student account you can grab Maya and 3DMax which will be better packages for sure but they will be student versions. If that is not an issue then you are good to go.
    Again nothing wrong with Blender, I am just not familiar with it's user interface. In fact I just downloaded the current version to take a look at it. It has an impressive tool set for what it costs Now it you just want to play with/learn some box/polygon modeling Wings3D is very slick.

    A good low cost (not free) nurbs program is MOI3D. Developed by a former Rhino guy and in constant development.

    Edit: Argh, SLW beat me to a reply
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    1st thing to do on Blender is to switch select from right-mouse button back to left-mouse button.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Thanks for this guy, I've downloaded Blender and will give it a try over the next few weeks. It could look like I would also give 3DS Max a shot as well. It looks more "product design" like.

    I just want to broaden my portfolio, using SW at work just bores me know. This will just be my little hobby.
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    Well if you want product design look at AutoDesk Alias Design.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Well if you want product design look at AutoDesk Alias Design.
    Now that's more like it... Why haven't I heard of this before now.
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  10. #10
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well it seems like the graphics card in my laptop isn't good enough for Alias. So Blender it is (for now )
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

Similar Threads

  1. Blender 3D 2.5xx
    By f700es in forum Design Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2011, 11:07 pm
  2. blender
    By chrisdarmanin in forum Design Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th Jan 2007, 05:49 pm
  3. AutoCAD to Blender
    By DanGray in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd May 2006, 06:43 pm
  4. Blender a sub for Cad?
    By sargemonkey in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2005, 08:04 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts