Need advice on buying a plotter

mrkmpn

We are looking to take the plunge and buy a plotter for the office. I have very little experience with plotters (have printed to one maybe 3 or 4 times) and really don't know what to look for.

One big consideration is that it needs to take up very little room. We have no space for some of the mammoth sized plotters I've seen on occasion, but I have noticed some that look very "thin" from front to back, which would be ideal to have here in my own (small) office.

We also don't really need the best plotter out there, but obviously we want something that is reliable and works well with Autocad (2012 if that matters, and running on Windows 7).

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• mrkmpn

• Tuns

• resullins

What is your budget?

How much room do you have to put the plotter?

Does it have to have color capability?

What size (max) paper must it be capable of printing to?

Don't forget to budget for things like ink cartridges and plotter paper.

Edited by ReMark

You should see if you can get a used one with not too many plots done on it. As long as you can find a salesman that doesn't wear a suit then you should be able to get a good plotter for a good deal.

I'm not 100% sure about the budget at the moment, but I believe the last time we spoke about it a couple of years ago he mentioned looking into a used/refurbished plotter for around $1500 to $2000 or so. It all got dropped because he ended up rarely ever having me do any drawings at the time.

Length wise, the ideal spot in my office it would need to be 4' long or less. Depth would ideally be 18" or less.

Color capability would be nice if I can find it in our price range so if there is anything close to the range stated above please mention it (that range is a guesstimate so please recommend anything close to that range)