SolidWorks guy trying to learn Inventor

SuperCAD

I'll preface this request by saying that I understand that my frustration has a lot to do with my inexperience with Inventor.

I've got over three years of experience using SolidWorks, after using AutoCAN'T for over a decade. Once we made the switch to SW (at my previous job), it was really easy to build our parts and assemblies using SW. In my new job, however, I've been informed that there is NO WAY that they are going to move from AutoCAN'T to SW. Apparently they are too invested in Autodesk products to jump ship like that.

That said, I think I may be able to convince them to go with Inventor if I could show them how it could help us. Here is where my frustration comes from.

In SW, linking sketches from a part to other parts, planes or sketches in the assemblies was extremely easy. Edit the sketch, click on a line, select what you want to link it to and BAM you're done. With Inventor, I've read that you're supposed to "project" geometry to link a sketch to it, but I cannot find where this magical command is at.

Even inserting parts is a pain for me in Inventor. In SW, your first part was locked to the assembly origin, and each subsequent part was left floating. Then you only needed three mates to anchor the part (two if you were using holes for mates). With Inventor, my second part is floating but when I go to add the constraints I can get two to work, but the third says that it causes a relationship error. This would make me think that the part is fully constrained, but I can still move the @#$% thing!.