+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    35

    Default Sweep command rotating "swept" object

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am trying to create helical threads based on this tutorial by JD Mather: http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content...torial%204.pdf

    I have done this in the past successfully, but now I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. If I draw the stud so that ends are tapered at a 45 deg. angle as in Mr. Mather's drawing, when I try to sweep the triangle along the helix it rotates the triangle which cuts into the tapered end a little but then only creates lines along the rest of the stud.

    If I draw the stud so that is is flat on each end, just a plain cylinder, it sweeps properly and once subtracted, gives the proper helical threads.

    Does anyone have any idea what causes this? Originally I thought maybe I was putting too little height between turns and tried several things before getting the idea that maybe it was the tapered end causing the issue... which seems to be the case.

    I would also like to note that I am not drawing it to JD Mather's "specs" from the tutorial, I am using the Machinery's handbook to get measurements for diameter, pitch, etc... I made a 5/8 stud, and didn't have an issue, however on 3/4, and 7/8 I have the same problem.


    *Edit*
    If it helps any it appears that the triangle is rotating so that the side of the triangle is parallel with the base of the stud.
    Last edited by mrkmpn; 4th Feb 2014 at 07:54 pm. Reason: additional detail

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I'm surprised JD Mather hasn't commented since you reference one of his tutorials.

    Well, as the learned man would say attach a copy of the drawing to your next post. Drawings speak louder than words. It's a graphical world; why are we using words? Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Just noticed your final remark, ReMark: l have to say I prefer CADbury's.

  4. #4
    Full Member Debalance's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Debalance's Computer Details
    Motherboard:
    Asus P9X79 LE/C/SI s2011 ATX bulk
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820 (BX80619I73820)
    RAM:
    Kingston DDR3 4x4096Mb PC3-17000 2133Mhz (KHX2133C11D3K4/16GX)
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD7970 OC WINDFORCE (GV-R797TO-3GD)
    Primary Storage:
    Kingston SSDNow V+200 120GB (SVP200S3B7A/120G)
    Secondary Storage:
    WD WD1001FALS 1000GB
    Discipline
    See details...
    Debalance's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    C++ and C# programming
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    ... why are we using words?
    Words have their charm ...
    SuperBoundary • Superior replacement for the standard BOUNDARY (BPOLY) command

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    You'd be surprised at how often words fail to describe the problem adequately. Why play 20 Questions? Just wastes everyone's time. Anyway, having an actual drawing does come in very handy for troubleshooting problems.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member Debalance's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Debalance's Computer Details
    Motherboard:
    Asus P9X79 LE/C/SI s2011 ATX bulk
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820 (BX80619I73820)
    RAM:
    Kingston DDR3 4x4096Mb PC3-17000 2133Mhz (KHX2133C11D3K4/16GX)
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD7970 OC WINDFORCE (GV-R797TO-3GD)
    Primary Storage:
    Kingston SSDNow V+200 120GB (SVP200S3B7A/120G)
    Secondary Storage:
    WD WD1001FALS 1000GB
    Discipline
    See details...
    Debalance's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    C++ and C# programming
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    75

    Default

    For several reasons, it is not always possible to post a drawing for public viewing.
    SuperBoundary • Superior replacement for the standard BOUNDARY (BPOLY) command

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Yeah, I've heard all the excuses. Most times we don't need the entire drawing rather we need just enough to see the problem manifest itself.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member Debalance's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Debalance's Computer Details
    Motherboard:
    Asus P9X79 LE/C/SI s2011 ATX bulk
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820 (BX80619I73820)
    RAM:
    Kingston DDR3 4x4096Mb PC3-17000 2133Mhz (KHX2133C11D3K4/16GX)
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD7970 OC WINDFORCE (GV-R797TO-3GD)
    Primary Storage:
    Kingston SSDNow V+200 120GB (SVP200S3B7A/120G)
    Secondary Storage:
    WD WD1001FALS 1000GB
    Discipline
    See details...
    Debalance's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    C++ and C# programming
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Maybe this is a case where even a fragment of drawing very large?
    SuperBoundary • Superior replacement for the standard BOUNDARY (BPOLY) command

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I doubt it. It's a single 3D bolt. Once again, there are ways around that too. Does the word Dropbox ring any bells?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I doubt it. It's a single 3D bolt. Once again, there are ways around that too. Does the word Dropbox ring any bells?
    Thanks for the reply ReMark. When I get a minute I'll redo the drawing and upload it for you. I tried running the sweep command on Mr. Mather's drawing and it appears to also SLIGHTLY rotate the triangle when running the sweep command, but not nearly as bad... and it also works creating the threads. I'm not sure why mine is doing it so bad.

    I have a few things to take care of 1st this morning and I'll get that uploaded.

    Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I change the Autocad command line prompt "command: " to shorter word?
    By e495987 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2013, 11:18 am
  2. "echo" of the "base" command
    By Sittingbull in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2011, 02:15 pm
  3. (command "dim" "DIMLDRBLK" "" |) is not working
    By bijoyvm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2010, 12:15 pm
  4. Re-draw an object using polyline from nodes created by "divide" command
    By pryzmm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2010, 05:12 am
  5. Applying Command to "Last" object
    By Hardney in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2007, 03:19 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts