+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    comcu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    Monitor:
    Dual monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Posts
    319

    Default 3d wire frame or solid modelling?

    Whats best 3d wire frame or solid modelling?

    My problem with solid modelling is that is easy to draw but hard to edit
    and i think wire frame is easy to draw and edit but i dont know ho to cap correctly. I can cap with a basic square/rectangle. Its when it comes to more complicated shapes eg a shape with 14 points?

    Is there an easy way of doing this?

  2. #2
    Full Member shinymathew's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    bangalore, india
    Posts
    89

    Default

    may be you need more understanding of 3d graphics. there are two types of 3d facility available in auto cad. one is solid and the other is surface. wire frame is only the way of representation of the object. autocad creates the object and it shows the object with wire frame. it is not ordinary lines or circles which you can edit. a 3d object is a single piece. like sphere, cylinder or cone or it can be combinations also. auto cad help also contains lot of examples.
    "I THINK, THEREFORE I EXIST"

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    comcu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    Monitor:
    Dual monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Posts
    319

    Default

    Sorry, when I say wire frame I meant surfaces.

    I do know that an object can be shown wire frame or various type of shading.

    My question was which is easier Solid or Surfaces?

    Solid as far as i know can only be edited with 'solid editing' will surfaces can be stretched and moved by grabbing points, the way you would a normal line.

    I think surfaces are easier until you need to cap them, thats when i struggle to do anything more than a simple square or rectangle cap.

    I must be missing a simple way of doing it?

    Or is there can you stretch solids, without exploding them?

  4. #4
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default

    personally i find solid modelling better than surface modelling, agreed the editing is annoying but once you have a good knowledge of what cad is or is not capable of you often find ways around the pulling and pushing of points, what type of shapes and models would you be creating and how often would you need to edit them

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    comcu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    Monitor:
    Dual monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Posts
    319

    Default

    at the minute its window and door profiles which arent always the most basic of shapes.

    The profiles are allready predrawn all i have to do is make them a polyline and then extrude them to me for these type of shapes surfaces would be the easiest but capping them is a problem

  6. #6
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    if you have a 2d profile and extrude it capping should never be a problem as it automatically caps its self, are you making the polyline a region before extruding?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts