+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Metric scaling

  1. #1
    Junior Member rosswhiteeca's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rosswhiteeca's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Computer:
    hp 6735s
    RAM:
    4G
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Penicuik, Scotland
    Posts
    15

    Default Metric scaling

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, I've created a drawing in model space in centimeters which I originally drew on A4 paper @ 1:100. When I bring it up in paper space I have to make it 1:10 to fit. Do I need to scale the drawing in model space using z enter s enter 1/10 xp enter to make it the correct scale?
    I find the scaling issues very confusing!
    The site itself is fairly large, 15m x 3.5m
    Last edited by rosswhiteeca; 4th Mar 2014 at 02:52 pm. Reason: change wording

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Click on the viewport. STOP!

    Look in the lower right hand corner of your screen on the task bar.

    Your current viewport scale should be shown. If you lick on the down pointing black arrow to the right of the scale a scale list should appear on screen.

    The way you are doing it now was OK when layouts and viewports were first introduced. Now there are at least three or four better ways to assign a scale to a viewport.

    Viewports and setting scales. This thread demonstrates the many options available.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ight=viewports
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    ReMarks threads explains how to do it. That said, it is rare that a drawing is in centimeters - millimeters or meters are much more common. For landscapes, meters would be my suggestion, but then you have to consider the transition from meters (model space) to millimeters (layout/paper space) as well. Drawing in millimeters is much simpler from a scale-stand point.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  4. #4
    Junior Member rosswhiteeca's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rosswhiteeca's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Computer:
    hp 6735s
    RAM:
    4G
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Penicuik, Scotland
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    ReMarks threads explains how to do it. That said, it is rare that a drawing is in centimeters - millimeters or meters are much more common. For landscapes, meters would be my suggestion, but then you have to consider the transition from meters (model space) to millimeters (layout/paper space) as well. Drawing in millimeters is much simpler from a scale-stand point.
    Ok thanks, so I guess what I'm asking is how do I change my drawing in model space from centimeters to millimeters? Then it should scale fine in paper space yes?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    If you have drawn in it centimeters then you have to scale it up x10 (command SCALE) to get it to millimeters. After that it should look fine in the viewport.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  6. #6
    Junior Member rosswhiteeca's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rosswhiteeca's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Computer:
    hp 6735s
    RAM:
    4G
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Penicuik, Scotland
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ah of course, I didn't even think of just scaling the actual drawing. So simple when you know how.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Drawing in centimetres is quite common in this part of Europe, I prefer millimetres myself, But in model space it's all good so long as you use full units, it all depends on what units you use to measure in, you shouldn't worry about scaling in model space. Scaling should be left to your layout.

Similar Threads

  1. More Metric scaling questions
    By JamFam in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2014, 06:05 pm
  2. metric scaling viewport
    By jacktopus in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 30th May 2013, 02:28 am
  3. Scaling and metric vs imperial
    By john551 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2009, 07:32 pm
  4. Metric scaling muddle
    By JamFam in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2009, 10:32 pm
  5. Scaling a Viewport to Metric
    By cadgirl2 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2008, 11:02 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts