+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie stiebert's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Picking a station along a curve - AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a paper plan set of a sidewalk that contains several simple horizontal curves. I've managed to use the curve data to replicate the sidewalk centerline in my CAD file. The outside edge of the sidewalk is kind of a zig-zag polygon line. To locate change of direction corners in the zig-zag line I was given the location point as a station along the trail and offset distance from trail centerline. My question is how do I easily locate a point along the curve at a specified station.

    I've managed to do a few using the MEASURE command and I insert a block at the specified station as a distance from the point of curvature. This works, but is very cumbersome and on top of that every time I insert the block it inserts 4 of them at the specified length that I entered.

    Please let me know if anyone has a quicker method. Also, if you know how to fix my problem with the MEASURE command I would appreciate that as well.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Senior Member PEGAdevelopment's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    PEGAdevelopment's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineering Drafter/Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Revit MEP 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    106

    Default

    I would make an alignment from the centerline. Next use the annotate tab, click "add labels", select "alignment" and choose "station offset" and take it from there.

  3. #3
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PEGAdevelopment View Post
    I would make an alignment from the centerline. Next use the annotate tab, click "add labels", select "alignment" and choose "station offset" and take it from there.
    I don't think LT has Alignments or station offset commands.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,748

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If its intersection pt relative to a curve then just draw a line from pt "Perp" to arc thats the true pt.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Down load leica total station to autocad
    By NHOJ in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th May 2013, 11:43 am
  2. Problem with picking fonts from MS office in AutoCAD MEP 2010
    By Rathaur in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2012, 10:40 am
  3. Transfer AutoCAD 2012 points to Carlsen Handheld Device for Total Station
    By jpetgarney in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2011, 05:47 pm
  4. AutoCad Work Station
    By zilincik in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2008, 03:43 pm
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2008, 07:21 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts