+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member shailujp's Avatar
    Computer Details
    shailujp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro V5900 (ATI FireGL)
    Monitor:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    shailujp's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine design, Mould Design and general drafting work
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mumbai - India
    Posts
    167

    Default Duplicate numeric text finder

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    I'm looking for a way to check my BOM lines (mostly copied from multiple drawings) for duplicate part numbers (all number, no alphabets but might have - or _) in an attribute block with a tag named DESCRIPTION & SAPNUMBERS.

    Example

    If the description says 12345 in one line and if the same is found on the another line in the description column then thats duplicate. Similarly on the SAPNUMBER column as well. If one of these return true then I will evaluate both the lines manually.

    Dont want to delete anything here. Just want to make sure I dont have same line repeated twice on the BOM. If found, I will just adjust the qty and delete one. Thats manual work that I do.

    Does anyone have any utility that I can use?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    Is that within one single block?

  3. #3
    Senior Member shailujp's Avatar
    Computer Details
    shailujp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro V5900 (ATI FireGL)
    Monitor:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    shailujp's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine design, Mould Design and general drafting work
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mumbai - India
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Nop. each BOM line is one attribute block and same is copied multiple times to make complete BOM.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    So how do you propose to show the duplicates then?

  5. #5
    Senior Member shailujp's Avatar
    Computer Details
    shailujp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro V5900 (ATI FireGL)
    Monitor:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    shailujp's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine design, Mould Design and general drafting work
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mumbai - India
    Posts
    167

    Default

    May be highlight two entities. In most cases there are only couple of duplicates. If all duplicated are highlighted, it wont be difficult to work thru the selection. Do you have any better idea?

  6. #6
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    We want to see what you have to start with. drawing file that is.

  7. #7
    Senior Member shailujp's Avatar
    Computer Details
    shailujp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro V5900 (ATI FireGL)
    Monitor:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    shailujp's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine design, Mould Design and general drafting work
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mumbai - India
    Posts
    167

    Default

    I have attached a sample file. I'm sorry I not very clear on your question though. Is this what you were looking for?
    Attached Files

  8. #8
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    No time to wait for your sample

    Code:
    Code removed [refer to post # 14]
    Last edited by pBe; 25th Mar 2014 at 10:02 am.

  9. #9
    Senior Member shailujp's Avatar
    Computer Details
    shailujp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro V5900 (ATI FireGL)
    Monitor:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    shailujp's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine design, Mould Design and general drafting work
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mumbai - India
    Posts
    167

    Default

    pBe,

    Works wonderfully well. Your lisp draws lines between two duplicate is a much better option. Thank you very much

    Edit: I got the tag name SAPNUMBERS incorrect on the sample file. I have fixed it on my pc.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The updated code draws a rectangle. you can do the rest like creating a layer for the rectangles and what not.

Similar Threads

  1. numeric text editing (add or subtracting)
    By VisDak in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2017, 06:23 pm
  2. Add or subtract from a station label with alpha-numeric text
    By JPayne in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2013, 09:21 pm
  3. Removing all numeric prefixing part of text objects
    By Organic in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2011, 12:15 pm
  4. bulk editing numeric text
    By tomals in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th Jun 2009, 03:13 pm
  5. change precison of numeric text
    By motee-z in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2008, 08:00 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts