+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie psuengineer84's Avatar
    Computer Details
    psuengineer84's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 860
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6570
    Monitor:
    (2) ASUS 24" monitors
    Discipline
    Structural
    psuengineer84's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Structural Engineer - Private Commercial
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    New and remedial design of concrete, steel, and timber structures.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9

    Default Dynamic Block Fields

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I cannot figure out how to get a field to update to a linear parameter within a dynamic block.

    See attached. There is a regular dimension string on the left and my custom dynamic block on the right. Don't mind that the action parameters do not affect the field, as I will update that when I figure this thing out.

    Thanks!

    SMALL_DIM.dwg

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    Add a field as the default value of the attribute, to add the field, open the attribute in the attribute editor, and then right click in the default box and choose insert field, a dialogue will open to let you choose the value you want to use, choose the Blockplaceholder for the field with the parameter that you wish to use. You will need to insert a new block to see the effect, and when you stretch the block action a regen will update the value in the field.
    Attached Images
    Attached Files

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie psuengineer84's Avatar
    Computer Details
    psuengineer84's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 860
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6570
    Monitor:
    (2) ASUS 24" monitors
    Discipline
    Structural
    psuengineer84's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Structural Engineer - Private Commercial
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    New and remedial design of concrete, steel, and timber structures.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Excellent! I think I wasn't inserting a new block. I had read an article that fields within blocks had to be DTEXT and not MTEXT. It appears that is the case.

    You wouldn't believe why I am doing this...my firm draws their dimensions and leaders with basic lines, arrows, and dtext. It is horrible, and I can't quite get a dimension style to match their 'style'.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    The word prehistoric comes to mind. I hope that they let you do the notes in Autocad and not add them to the paper copies after they are printed.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie psuengineer84's Avatar
    Computer Details
    psuengineer84's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 860
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6570
    Monitor:
    (2) ASUS 24" monitors
    Discipline
    Structural
    psuengineer84's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Structural Engineer - Private Commercial
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    New and remedial design of concrete, steel, and timber structures.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    HAHA! Exactly, and close-minded. It is so weird, because they have kept up with the latest versions, but use 1/99999 of the features. They might as well be using r14.

    Good thing AutoCAD's word-processor is starting to keep up with Microsoft Word!

    Thanks, Steven. I'll be back, I am sure, with some other cockamamie work-around...

  6. #6
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You're welcome, I use LT so most of my work is workarounds,

Similar Threads

  1. Fields in Dynamic Blocks
    By woodman78 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2010, 12:11 pm
  2. Fields, Attributes, Dynamic Blocks, MText, and Excedrin
    By MaxwellEdison in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Feb 2009, 05:51 pm
  3. Tutorial: Use fields to automatically label dynamic blocks
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2008, 11:40 pm
  4. fields in block attributes
    By chulse in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2008, 08:30 pm
  5. dynamic fields
    By raulwg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2008, 02:23 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts