+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default Pump symbol for one line diagram? which one is correct?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    what is the different use purpose between these 2 pumps, which one can i use for to show just general pump one one line diagram? i want to show a pump with 3" pipe outlet from the pump.


    one line diagram.jpg

  2. #2
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Is this a homework question?



    Using a very small amount of logic here, a one line diagram shows only a little detail, whereas plan, profile, section, and/or an actual detail sheet shows, well, more detail.

    If I were a betting man, I'd say the symbol on the right is more generic, and thus should be used for a one line diagram. In most one line diagrams I've worked with, the diagram doesn't represent the pipe sizes being used, but the individual pipe segment labels often specify the size for you, hence the resultant diagram.

    HTH
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    It may also depend on the type of pump. Examples: centrifugal, air diaphragm, vacuum, gear or screw pump.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    Is this a homework question?



    Using a very small amount of logic here, a one line diagram shows only a little detail, whereas plan, profile, section, and/or an actual detail sheet shows, well, more detail.

    If I were a betting man, I'd say the symbol on the right is more generic, and thus should be used for a one line diagram. In most one line diagrams I've worked with, the diagram doesn't represent the pipe sizes being used, but the individual pipe segment labels often specify the size for you, hence the resultant diagram.
    HTH
    This is the real world question, I am creating one line diagram from what i saw on the field. i was going to use the pump on the right side too, but just want to make sure if the one on the left represent the same meaning, on google search it was called: "Centrifugal" not sure what that mean?. I want to show pumps with pipe line size call out and some valves. The pump has outlet and inlet.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    CentPumpPID.PNG
    Use a symbol that looks like this.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Attachment 48301
    Use a symbol that looks like this.
    Hi Remak, is this regular pump (In and Out inlets)? not the Centrifugal pump? yes or no

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    viking pump.JPG Need symbol to represent this type of pump?

  8. #8
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    If it's schematic then a box would even suffice as long as it's tagged/labeled properly. There's not real right or wrong way as long as some type of symbol is used that can then be referenced to the pump information in a schedule. ReMark's schematic pump is the most common and considered the industry standard.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    If it's schematic then a box would even suffice as long as it's tagged/labeled properly. There's not real right or wrong way as long as some type of symbol is used that can then be referenced to the pump information in a schedule. ReMark's schematic pump is the most common and considered the industry standard.
    Thank you tzframpton and Remark, that's all i need to make sure.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sengna View Post
    Attachment 48302 Need symbol to represent this type of pump?
    Use one similar to that which I posted an image of previously. Don't forget to show a motor too.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. VBA Electrical Single Line Diagram linked via excel
    By franchew in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2015, 07:37 pm
  2. Centre Line for projection symbol
    By matt4 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2009, 06:36 pm
  3. break-line symbol
    By cadmench in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2007, 06:40 pm
  4. Line length not correct after rotate
    By I_SUSSEX in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2007, 06:17 pm
  5. Correct symbol?
    By PeteUK in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2007, 09:43 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts