+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dblclkmatt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core Duo 2.93GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    2 21" ACER monitor displays
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    42

    Default Automatically generate a Layout Tab

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys,

    This seems like an impossible maneuver, but I'd kick myself if I didn't ask the question.

    What'd I'd like to do:
    Essentially draw a selection box/window around an object in model space, and it is auto-magically captured inside of a viewport on a brand new Layout tab (duplicating the layout settings of an already existing "master" tab).

    I'm so used to using the "Print Window" feature, it seems liked it'd be possible to snapshot objects in this manner in a more permanent fashion, making plotting quicker and easier. Especially if I need to do multiple prints.

    Thoughts? Suggestions? Alternatives?

    Thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Would something like this work?

    Copy Layout.gif

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Maybe you better batch print from model space? This will be faster.

    Or so, but it's extra work:
    http://youtu.be/JRU4YrkzDPc

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,879

    Default

    Go the way of Nestly, the only extra question is what scale do you want the new mview at. You can do basicly any view you like auto front back top etc Not something I do.

    This may help http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...le-layout-tabs

    Add just pick point in model space 1st, run lisp above use CTAB to make current layout, make a mview then in your new mview Z C pt scale.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dblclkmatt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core Duo 2.93GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    2 21" ACER monitor displays
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    Would something like this work?

    Attachment 48579
    This is actually the method I have been using. But sometimes when I hold CTRL, my AutoCAD locks up on me until I release the CTRL key. So that's why I was looking for an alternative method that might have been a little more automated.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dblclkmatt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core Duo 2.93GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    2 21" ACER monitor displays
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maratovich View Post
    Maybe you better batch print from model space? This will be faster.

    Or so, but it's extra work:
    http://youtu.be/JRU4YrkzDPc
    I think I understand what the video is showing, but I don't have the file that he references in the beginning, which I assume is what contains the list of commands he's using (because I don't have those either).

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dblclkmatt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core Duo 2.93GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    2 21" ACER monitor displays
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Go the way of Nestly, the only extra question is what scale do you want the new mview at. You can do basicly any view you like auto front back top etc Not something I do.

    This may help http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...le-layout-tabs

    Add just pick point in model space 1st, run lisp above use CTAB to make current layout, make a mview then in your new mview Z C pt scale.
    I'm not sure what the CTAB command is performing. I type it, selected the layout I want to copy, and nothing happens. That would be a quick alternative to using the CTRL+Drag feature if I could get it to work.

    To answer your question, I'd like it to the scaled to fit the selection to the window. Just as the zoom tool does. I was just looking for it to be a little more automated. I'm very familiar with Adobe programs and their list of "Actions" that takes care of a lot of the mundane, "click this, click that, scale that to this, duplicate that to there, save" and automatically performs them all.

    I was thinking there might be a LISP that could perform this task. I figured I wasn't the first person to ask the question.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by dblclkmatt View Post
    I think I understand what the video is showing, but I don't have the file that he references in the beginning, which I assume is what contains the list of commands he's using (because I don't have those either).
    http://experement.spb.ru/wiki/doku.php?id=vport_pp

    All possible options:
    http://forum.dwg.ru/showthread.php?t=104517

Similar Threads

  1. Best way to generate elevations
    By tom111 in forum AutoCAD LT
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2013, 04:41 pm
  2. generate an isometric?
    By syzygy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2011, 05:17 pm
  3. generate contour using VBA
    By mien in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2010, 10:52 am
  4. VBA generate scr file
    By mien in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2009, 04:29 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts