+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default Export to PDF file

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Whenever I try to export drawings from layout form to PDF, the preview always looks perfect, then has one edge cut-off after saved. I have tried several different aproaches to solve this problem, made sure the scale was 1:1, used extents,layout, center the plot. Nothing seems to work. Any help would be appreciated. I am using AUTOCAD 2014.

    Thanks,Tom

  2. #2
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Did you try publish option instead of export ?

    I do not have cad 2014 here but i hope the publish option still exists in new version
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Have you installed this service pack yet.

    Are you using the term Export generically to mean to put something out, or is there an actual command that does this. I have never used it, or even looked for it. Batch plot, publish, plot all work fine for me instead of export.

    Simply put, the pdf plotter/printer drivers that come with AutoCad sometimes suck.

    Look at the plot offset in the lower left corner of your page setup or plot dialog window. This offset is from 0,0 in the lower left corner of the paper. The offset is supposed to keep you out of the unprintable area around the edge of the paper. This offset is editable, and it usually defaults to the correct value. For pdf's, not so much.

    Compare the default offset distance there for the pdf to a hard copy layout you know works on the same size paper as your pdf will be.

    You can see a larger offset of as much as 0.3 to 0.4 inches along the x axis and a tenth or more in the y axis for the pdf. This is enough to drive your border line out of the printable area

    Luckily, you can adjust the offset to correct for drunken programmers at the driver factory. You may have to play around with it some, but most likely you need merely to set the values back to the same values you find on your had copy layout.

    You may or may not see a red warning stripe around your top and left border in the silly little plot preview window on the layout/plot dialog after you change the offset for your pdf plot. As long as your entire drawing fits the plot preview and final pdf the way you want it, you can ignore the red stripes because, apparently AutoCad doesn't know where your plot needs to be on the page anyway.

    I have found that a plot offset of 0.20 in both directions suits most of what I do in both hard copy and pdf plotting, so I simply use that for every paperspace layout I do.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thank-you for the replies. After two hours of fiddling with it this morning, I think I have a template I can live with. It is still weird though. I am trying to use the dotted line in paper space as a boundry for my drawing borders. This does not work, with the border of my drawing well inside the dotted line, my x set at 0, and my Y set at -.5, I finally got it to show the whole image in the PDF file. It worked, just doesn't seem right to do it this way. Seems like if I used the dotted line as my drawing space limits and set my X and Y to 0.....it should be good. Oh well this is something I will probably have to spend more time on.
    Thanks, Tom

  5. #5
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,533

    Default

    I agree in trying to "print" to a PDF instead of "export" to a PDF. I haven't tried export yet but I might just to see if the results are different. I will say that in my experience I have learned that at times it might be better the use the default DWG to PDF driver instead of a 3rd party, such as Adobe. I sometimes print drawings with transparent hatch patterns in them. The Adobe PDF driver almost always screws them up while the DWG to PDF driver make them perfect every time and at a considerable smaller PDF file size. I am using Arobat X Pro as well
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Chitwood View Post
    Thank-you for the replies. After two hours of fiddling with it this morning, I think I have a template I can live with. It is still weird though. I am trying to use the dotted line in paper space as a boundry for my drawing borders. This does not work, with the border of my drawing well inside the dotted line, my x set at 0, and my Y set at -.5, I finally got it to show the whole image in the PDF file. It worked, just doesn't seem right to do it this way. Seems like if I used the dotted line as my drawing space limits and set my X and Y to 0.....it should be good. Oh well this is something I will probably have to spend more time on.
    Thanks, Tom
    The 0,0 is at the lower left of the printable area (dashed line) in paperspace, not at the corner of the paper.
    You are right in that we should not have to do it this way. It depends on the printer, and the driver how accurate this stuff is. AutoCad has always been pretty nasty with pdf printing, but since 2010, it has started getting better.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    I agree in trying to "print" to a PDF instead of "export" to a PDF. I haven't tried export yet but I might just to see if the results are different. I will say that in my experience I have learned that at times it might be better the use the default DWG to PDF driver instead of a 3rd party, such as Adobe. I sometimes print drawings with transparent hatch patterns in them. The Adobe PDF driver almost always screws them up while the DWG to PDF driver make them perfect every time and at a considerable smaller PDF file size. I am using Arobat X Pro as well
    Since I use AutoCad LT, I find it easier and more efficient to use TrueView and its dwg to pdf.pc3 for my pdf plotting. I don't have those weird blurry text issues with it that I can get with the 2009 version of the dwg to pdf.pc3. 2009 LT does not have Batch Plot, or multi sheet pdf file, or exclude layer and block information without having to use Publish. The TrueView pdf files per page, are usually about 60% smaller than I can generate using 2009 LT.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    Have you installed this service pack yet.
    Luckily, you can adjust the offset to correct for drunken programmers at the driver factory. You may have to play around with it some, but most likely you need merely to set the values back to the same values you find on your had copy layout.
    I wouldn't say they're drunk. High maybe but not drunk.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ski_Me View Post
    I wouldn't say they're drunk. High maybe but not drunk.
    Why? Do they write the driver code in Colorado?

    And the Colorado rocky mountain high
    I've seen it rainin' fire in the sky
    I know he'd be a poorer man if he never saw an eagle fly
    Rocky mountain high

    It's Colorado rocky mountain high
    I've seen it rainin' fire in the sky
    Friends around the campfire and everybody's high
    Rocky mountain high
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Using VBA to export a Pdf File from AutoCAD
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Sep 2015, 12:17 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2011, 06:58 pm
  3. Export/import drawing file to/from csv(text) file
    By mtjipta in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2010, 04:14 am
  4. how shall i export dwg file to 3d max
    By sudhaathreya in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Oct 2009, 06:19 pm
  5. Export DWG file with .txt or .CSV
    By DMS in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st May 2009, 03:43 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts