+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help Needed

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dsibbo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    M&E Consultant
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    149

    Default Help Needed

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We have a massive problem at the moment with drawings received from architects exporting from Revit.

    We are getting tons of blocks within blocks within blocks within blocks...

    I need a way to get all these blocks to show as the top layer. Setbylayer isn't working for this and Laymrg isn't an option because not everything on this layer needs to go on the other layer.


    Is there a lisp routine or something similar that will do this automatically?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Most architects that send exported .dwgs do not know how to do it properly. There are some settings that would help you out with this if you had the Revit model and software.

    Do you have Revit? If so, get the model so you can export yourself. If not, maybe you can have a talk with them and get them to export it so that it is usable. They should be more than willing to help you out as you need a usable file from them and if you are getting garbage, it is up to them to fix it for you.

    Short of that any LISP routine would take some time to write and need quite a bit of input from you because you have to cherry pick the items to be modified.

    If you can post a portion of the file for us to take a look at and a more detailed description of what you want to do, maybe one could be written or some other solution could be found.
    Last edited by RobDraw; 7th May 2014 at 05:36 pm.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dsibbo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    M&E Consultant
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    149

    Default

    I've attached a portion of the drawing.

    What I need is all of the furniture (beds, sinks, chairs) to go onto the Ground layer.

    Then I need all the symbols around the walls (power sockets, data triangles, switches) to go onto the Loaded Plan layer.

    I can go around the drawing at place all of these things on the layer I want, but because the items in these blocks are on different layers, it doesn't change to the layer colours or names.

    So i'd have to go in the block and select all the lines and place them on my layer, but it isn't even as straight forward as that, the blocks have blocks nested within them, so ethe process needs doing 3-4 times per block.

    I think I need a routine that takes a block, and all blocks nested within and places them on the layer assigned to them on model space.
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Yeah, I would suggest having the LISP explode all the nested blocks and put everything on layer "0". It sounds doable and I bet there is one out there already. Search some of the LISP forums/websites. If you can't find one, put a request in. I bet you'll have one in no time.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dsibbo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    M&E Consultant
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Yeah, I would suggest having the LISP explode all the nested blocks and put everything on layer "0". It sounds doable and I bet there is one out there already. Search some of the LISP forums/websites. If you can't find one, put a request in. I bet you'll have one in no time.

    Any particular website you would suggest for this?

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Needed much of a help
    By SCaldeira in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2011, 03:37 am
  2. 3D help needed
    By TheNewGuy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2009, 08:01 pm
  3. PC Needed
    By Opc 12 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2008, 08:12 am
  4. some help needed
    By Rebbeca in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2006, 06:27 pm
  5. Help Needed
    By Rebbeca in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2006, 02:31 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts