+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default Mirrored annotative dynamic block flips back after re-open

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi! I've been experimenting a bit with annotative dynamic blocks, specifically with the purpose of creating annotative section arrows.

    I've created an annotative block containing the arrow drawing and a single attribute definition for the lettering (A, B, C...) that does NOT have locked position so that the user can be able to move the letters.

    Everything works as expected except one thing: when testing I've been mirroring the block to get one section arrow at each side of the plan. The text even stays correctly orientated (and if the section is diagonal I can go into the enhanced attribute editor and specify the text rotation). The problem occurs when I save and re-open the drawing, then it seems that AutoCAD forgot that the block was mirrored, and it has been flipped back and moved around.

    I am pretty sure this doesn't have anything to do with Annoreset or some variable like that, but I'm not sure.

    I was wondering if anybody else had a similar issue or can recreate the problem. I'm guessing this is just one of those AutoCAD things... and that the solution would be to create one block for each side, and don't ever mirror them. Rotating and scaling the blocks work just fine.

    Thanks in advance. I'll attach my file.

    section arrow.zip

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    Make it a dynamic block. There is a simple example attached. Warning, the example is in imperial units, inches. I normally use my example both as section arrows and elevation callouts. This one is an elevation callout. The section arrow will of coourse, have a section line. I am not sure how to build it, I didn't do this one. This block is not annotative though. The attributes, do not rotate or flip.

    Use a flip parameter/action, and a rotation parameter/action. Forget the mirror thing. It works best inside the block definition. Mirroring dynamic and/or annotative blocks can be problematic. Apparently it just adds a truckload of overhead math for AutoCad to do in the negative to keep the block integrity when mirrored.

    I have also found that editing a block definition with something as simple as a hatch scale change can cause reversion to the native state of the block in the previously inserted instances of the block. I have not had it revert mirrored blocks, but I have had a bunch of dynamic blocks (stretch) all revert back to the native length in the definition. I wonder if the enhanced attribute editor can cause the reversion too.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Dana W; 10th May 2014 at 02:11 am.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Thanks. I had a faint hope that there might have been some system setting or something that I had missed but I guess not. Will make a dynamic block.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by PetterVitestam View Post
    Thanks. I had a faint hope that there might have been some system setting or something that I had missed but I guess not. Will make a dynamic block.
    Well, it is supposed to work the way you were doing it, but sometimes the program code loses track of what it was doing. It would take pages and pages to explain how a computer program processes vector graphics information, and how it might lose some of it.

    Lets just say we find a work-around. Actually though, the advent of dynamic blocks has rendered the mirroring of blocks after insertion, to the status of a work-around.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Annotative Block With Dynamic Properties - Rotation Issues at Annotative Scales
    By nwinslow in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2015, 07:34 am
  2. Annotative Block nested in none Annotative Dynamic Block
    By tuannmvncc in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2012, 09:41 am
  3. Annotative scaling with Dynamic Block
    By WINTERMUTE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 28th May 2012, 01:59 pm
  4. Can you nest a Annotative/dynamic block inside a non-annotative block
    By Sparky in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd Sep 2011, 02:25 pm
  5. Annotative +Dynamic Block Selection Preview
    By hoowahfun in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2010, 09:10 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts