+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default Finding and Sorting Drawings... How do you do it?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys,

    Just wanted to start a discussion on peoples various methods of managing their drawing libraries. Specifically - if you have a list of drawings which you need to collect, how do you isolate them from your drawing library?

    For example, as a steel detailer, we use ProSteel - which produces individual .DWGs for each part and group in our models, so we often work on jobs with 1000+ drawings. Often we are asked to provide a batch of drawings for only a certain area of the job. It is quite easy to isolate the required elements in the model, and produce a list of the drawings pertaining to this area... but actually collection these drawings from the list can be quite tricky (especially if using only Windows Explorer).

    So... my question to you guys is - how do/would you do it?

    Looking forward to hearing some ideas.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,727

    Default

    Maybe grid points over entire site export out to say excel as you create layouts, use the window to search for grid pts, grid + dwg number. When searching remove duplicates from list produced for an area.

    1000,1000 dwg1
    1100,1000 dwg1
    1200,1000 dwg1
    1300,1000 dwg2
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,371

    Default

    All of our drawings, whether produced in-house or obtained from outside sources, are logged into a master database. We create unique queries to cull out the drawings we are interested in finding. So a query might be based on a process code (ex. - 02_1), a company name (ex. - Fairfield County Sprinkler) or a drawing type (site plan). Some queries are utilized so often (ex. - P&ID) that they are a standard part of the database while others may be used only once then not used again.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys.

    BigAl, do you mean number the drawings by area (each area has a specific number/code)? That is a good idea.

    ReMark, what is the software that you use for your database? Do you attach tag/key words/letters to the drawings to find them?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,371

    Default

    The database was created in MS Access. To view CAD drawings and PDFs the engineers utilize our internal engineering website where the appropriate links can be found.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,727

    Default

    Like Remark we have a database based on MS access for recording the master project details, but our drawings rarely go into big numbers 4-5 max. Though I am working on one with 86 layouts. Just use dwgindex to jump to correct layout.

    I was suggesting above a possible way of recording each layout by its co-ords not sheet name, as you asked how to find sheets for a certain area, the other way may be to have a 2nd dwg with layouts as rectang blocks then xref in a shadow outline of the project then just window area and retrieve the sheet numbers. Easiest way is within layout do rectang block rescale etc to fit then CUT and paste to other dwg original co-ords. You can have multiple rectangs of different size = scale of layout.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Hey guys thanks again for the input.

    ReMark - what would the process be for collecting a set of drawings (.DWGs) that do not have any keyword similarities? Is there a way you can feed a list (excel, TXT) file and get it to collect the list drawings?

    BigAl - my first explanation may have not been clear enough. I am wondering about how to find/isolated a set of .DWGs, rather than layouts. We only use the model layout in each DWG for our shop drawings. One file one drawing.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,727

    Default

    Each rectang can still be a dwg name in your seperate index dwg. Just use a selection window and a list of dwg names would be created. Our GIS has all engineering plans as polygons representing the area of interest of a plan so a road intersection would be a cross shape. Depending on search area is how many polygons are retrieved.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Prosteel allows my to create a list of drawings pretty easily. I'm more interest in a method to isolate the .DWGs (through windows explorer) or another way.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,727

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Within lisp you can use VL to copy a dwg from one directory to another is this what you want ? If so google Bold for command example, you said you have the list just repeat as required.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. sorting the tree
    By andar424 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2013, 03:51 pm
  2. Sorting a report
    By Electroman7979 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2009, 05:00 pm
  3. Sorting Linetype Scales out on other people drawings?
    By spittle in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2007, 04:44 pm
  4. Sorting Drawings when going to open
    By AutoCAD Slave in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2005, 08:41 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts