+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default pipe elevation for underground utilities site map

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was wondering if there is standard way for lable the underground piping for how deep they are? this is what i just came up with by just put the leader & text on the top of the pipe, but they get too crowded when i put 100 or more leader & text on the site map. I put the measurement on one layer "Pipe elev" and i can turn the layer on or off when need to. just wondering what is the proper way to do this in general?
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    I used different line types. Maybe put the depth in the line, unless the depth varies to where you end up with boo-koo line types.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_map View Post
    I used different line types. Maybe put the depth in the line, unless the depth varies to where you end up with boo-koo line types.
    Yes, i already had different line types for different pipes and legends on the drawing

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    It depends on the pipe. If that is a waster pipe or a gas pipe then I probably only care about the depth (and size etc) so what you have is sufficient. However, if the pipe is a stormwater pipe or sewer/sanitary pipe then the pipe would/should be on a slope. In that case you would want to label the start and end of each pipe. E.g upstream end is 10.25, downstream end is 10.12 etc. Be careful, there maywill be a drop through a pit if it is a stormwater/sewer pipe.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Organic View Post
    It depends on the pipe. If that is a waster pipe or a gas pipe then I probably only care about the depth (and size etc) so what you have is sufficient. However, if the pipe is a stormwater pipe or sewer/sanitary pipe then the pipe would/should be on a slope. In that case you would want to label the start and end of each pipe. E.g upstream end is 10.25, downstream end is 10.12 etc. Be careful, there maywill be a drop through a pit if it is a stormwater/sewer pipe.
    there are waste pipe, storm pipe, sewer pipe, water pipe...... as shown on the image at that point of that pipe is 2'-3" deep (in fact i could put the dim from the building to the point), i can only measure the deepness of each pipe at certain areas during excavation. Thanks Organic, i just want to make sure if i am heading to the right direction.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2013, 12:36 pm
  2. Block Lisp Utilities
    By nicolas in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Jun 2012, 03:29 am
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2012, 11:03 pm
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th May 2012, 01:01 am
  5. Drawing utilities???
    By kasper_4000 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2010, 10:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts