Need Help with scales for working in Meters

I'm new to Autocad (12) and have a question that is really puzzling me, I do the following:

a.) open a fresh acadiso.dwt template file

b.) define a standard paper setup for layout1, paper is set to 8½x11 landscape

c.) run UNITS from the command line, for type: decimal, for insertion scale: meters

d.) I draw a line .2 units long in model space

e.) I set the viewport scale to 1:1 in layout1 and observe my line

What I see is a line drawn .2mm long instead of .2m, why is that? Shouldn't the line be .2m long spanning almost my entire sheet since I set my drawing units to meters and want to see a real-size view of 1:1?

thanks for any help!

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dan_m

• Dana W

• CADTutor

• steven-g

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Welcome to CADTutor. :)

The default data base units for the acadiso template are milliimeters.

If you want to change to meters, use the -dwgunits command (include the hyphen) instead.

Read and follow the commandline prompts carefully, and you will be walked through

setting it up.

Your working in metric one advantage is 0.2 is 0.2 wether it be mm or m you need to make a choice if you want mm then it should be 200 the main change will be when dimensioning you can draw in m 0.2 but dimension as 200mm the dim style would have the 1000 scaling set in it. What I am saying is you can mix and match draw in mm but have some dims in metre then scaling is 0.001. The quick answer on scale will be 1:1 or 1:1000

We work with units set to unitless meters or mm just play with scale.

Also if metric use A4 paper size.

I drew a line 200 long then inside the mview Z E then Z 1XP line fits snug as A4 is 210x297 scale 1:1

thanks for the warm welcome :)