+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 59
  1. #21
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by dan_m View Post
    I was hoping to do some drawing using units other than mms or inches as my drawing units ...
    I don't understand. What is the problem? Attach your *.dwg file here.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    I don't understand. What is the problem? Attach your *.dwg file here.
    JD I'm really curious, if you duplicate my steps in post no.12 does it work on your computer? Do you see a line drawn to a real life length of 200mm in the 1:1 viewport? thanks again

  3. #23
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    I would like to see anybody post a dwg, with a line drawn at 0.2 units in model space, and in paper space on any size or format of paper to plot at the 1:1 scale, and get anything that doesn't measure either .2" or .2mm. You can set any variable that I can think of, to any value you want, paperspace 1:1 only accepts 1 unit as either 1 inch or 1 mm. The various unit settings only affect how objects are inserted and copied between different drawings. If you draw a line in model space 0.2 and you are working in units of 1 meter then to print that from a layout at full size you have to print to scale 1000:1.

  4. #24
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Is there a reason why you will not attach your drawing to a post so we can see what is going on?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #25
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    meters.dwgHere's my version, everything set to meters. Line drawn at 0.2. Paper size 11" x 8.5". Layout 1:1 metric.

  6. #26
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    I would like to see anybody post a dwg, with a line drawn at 0.2 units in model space, and in paper space on any size or format of paper to plot at the 1:1 scale, and get anything that doesn't measure either .2" or .2mm. You can set any variable that I can think of, to any value you want, paperspace 1:1 only accepts 1 unit as either 1 inch or 1 mm. The various unit settings only affect how objects are inserted and copied between different drawings. If you draw a line in model space 0.2 and you are working in units of 1 meter then to print that from a layout at full size you have to print to scale 1000:1.
    You know, you are exactly right. And I have thoroughly lashed myself with a wet noodle in penance.

    My thinking was thrown off by the change to meters. I am also used to the 1:1 scale automatically working for me since I NEVER work with meters as a unit. I always either use inches or mm as a base unit in modelspace, and THE SAME UNITS in paperspace. The scales in the scale list are this many paperspace units = this many modelspace units.

    When I actually tried the OP's methods, and got the same results as the OP, I went and had a drink.

    dan_m, I offer my condolences to you for having to deal with us.

    Steven is correct, you will have to add a scale to your scale list like he says. 1000:1 that is 1000 mm (paperspace units) equals 1 m (modelspace units). That is, after all full size.

    Sheesh, talk about being stuck in a rut. I have no explanation as to why this didn't immediately dawn on me.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #27
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    Attachment 49239Here's my version, everything set to meters. Line drawn at 0.2. Paper size 11" x 8.5". Layout 1:1 metric.
    Hey, don't remind me. I am still hung over from trying to hide my shame.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #28
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    Hey, don't remind me. I am still hung over from trying to hide my shame.


    Thanks to all, even those who lashed themselves with a wet noodle lol


    But I still wonder if we are doing everything possible, maybe there's an obscure variable we can set somewhere, it's just weird Acad should act this way

  9. #29
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dan_m View Post
    Thanks to all, even those who lashed themselves with a wet noodle lol


    But I still wonder if we are doing everything possible, maybe there's an obscure variable we can set somewhere, it's just weird Acad should act this way
    Stop wondering. It is only the relationship of meters to millimeters. How many model units fit into one paper unit? In this case it is 0.001 model units fit one paper unit, in order to get a full size plot. Now, that does lead me to ask why one would want to draw in meters if the object is to plot full size on a letter sized paper. Or maybe we are just trying to figure out the relationship?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  10. #30
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think the problem is that the AutoCAD drawing editor doesn't know anything but units. Everything else needs to be calibrated. So, the scale needs to be input during the page setup as well. See Image and associated drawing file.
    Attached Images
    Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. scales, scales, scales problem
    By Aardenon in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2014, 08:47 am
  2. DIM/MULTILEADER overall scales/plot scales
    By Sengna in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2013, 10:38 am
  3. From feet to meters
    By kililio in forum Revit General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2013, 07:30 am
  4. Custom Layout scales not working
    By JamFam in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2012, 12:18 am
  5. Drawing scales & viewport scales
    By manhattan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2008, 08:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts