+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default How do i batch convert 150+ dwg to pdf?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Guys,

    We have been supplied over 150 dwg files and I have been assigned the task of exporting them all to PDF. Is there a batch processor that is capable of doing this task? I can see software that will cost $99 and hopefully be able to do it, but im hoping to learn how to do it some other way (if possible!)

    Has anyone been down this path before and been able to do it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default How do i batch convert 150+ dwg to pdf?

    I posted this in AutoCAD Customisation, but think the question may belong here...

    We have been supplied over 150 dwg files and I have been assigned the task of exporting them all to PDF. Is there a batch processor that is capable of doing this task? I can see software that will cost $99 and hopefully be able to do it, but im hoping to learn how to do it some other way (if possible!)

    Has anyone been down this path before and been able to do it?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    gazza_au's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineering
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Management/Stainless Fabrication/Design/Drafting
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    132

    Default

    Have you got Acrobat X Pro at work?




    Convert AutoCAD files in batches

    1. Choose Adobe PDF > Batch Conversion.
    2. Specify your preferences for layers, page size, plot style, and output PDFs. Click Conversion Settings to specify the Acrobat PDFMaker settings.
    3. In the DWG List, do any of the following:
      • Click Add Folder or Add Files, and then specify the folder or files.
      • To load a previously saved list of files, click Append List, and then specify the list.
      • As needed, expand individual files and select or deselect the items you want, such as model space and layouts. To exclude or include all model space, click the associated buttons.
      • To exclude a file from the conversion, deselect the file box. As needed, select or deselect all of the files in the list, change the order of the files, remove files, or clear the list.
      • To show the complete file paths, select Expand File Name(s).
      • To save the DWG list for later use, click Save List. This action saves the list in its current state, including the file order and file selections. You can retrieve this list at any time by clicking Append List.
    4. Click Convert.
    5. Once the conversion is finished, you can click Save Details to save a log file of the conversion.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    gazza_au's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineering
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Management/Stainless Fabrication/Design/Drafting
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    132

  5. #5
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Please check the PUBLISH built-in command.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  6. #6
    Super Member asos2000's Avatar
    Computer Details
    asos2000's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cairo Egypt
    Posts
    661

    Default

    Is not PUBLISH do that task?
    Search on net for this progran "AcroPlot"
    Sorry for my English.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I am looking at PUBLISH as we speak, i think this should work for what I require. Thanks for your help guys

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    VVA's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2400
    RAM:
    8 Gb
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 GB + WD 750 GB
    Monitor:
    Philips 27"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minsk, Belarus
    Posts
    447

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    If all your dwgs are set up for layouts then using a script will do all. Only prob is individual pdf's

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ighlight=views

    script
    Code:
    open dwg1 (load "plotpdf") close N
    open dwg2 (load "plotpdf") close N
    open dwg3 (load "plotpdf") close N
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  10. #10
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No external program is needed. AutoCAD can produce the PDFs and you can batch plot using PUBLISH.

    Hopefully the layouts are all set-up correctly. If not there is a way to import a page set-up from within publisher.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD - Mass Convert DWG To DXF (Batch Convert DWG To DXF) (Mas DWG Convert)
    By kArThIcK hAcKeR in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2017, 02:05 pm
  2. How can I convert dxf to dwg in batch??
    By Han_BFY in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2016, 03:48 am
  3. Batch convert dxf,dwg to pdf,jpg,bmp,gif...
    By anotherseason in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2012, 06:12 pm
  4. Batch Convert DWG to RFA
    By Trevit in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2012, 10:44 pm
  5. Batch convert DGN to DWG
    By sandiegophil in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th May 2011, 07:33 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts