+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 85
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    61

    Question Client wants DWG files...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ok so I have a client who wants the DWG files of our project, but my boss is hesitant about sending them it as he does not want them to be able to just manipulate it and use for their own stuff. What is the best way to bind/block each individual sheet, including the xrefs, so that they would have a harder time using them if they wanted to? Make sense?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    Well you can bind them up but you're still sending the DWGs so I don't think it will make any difference. Do they need the DWGs for their part of the job? Would DWF's work for them?
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnyamorales View Post
    Ok so I have a client who wants the DWG files of our project, but my boss is hesitant about sending them it as he does not want them to be able to just manipulate it and use for their own stuff.
    Manipulate what exactly? What harm can that do? They're not the ones submitting a sign and sealed set so it doesn't really matter. It's for their internal use only.

    The only time your boss' hesitations become valid is if they have direct access to the DWG files on your company's internal domain network. THAT'S when it becomes an issue and I'm pretty sure that's not happening.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    He is worried that they will use the drawings to do similar work on their own, as they currently do not do the type of work we do. Does that make sense? I am trying to get him to just send DWFs but he is stating the client wants the DWGs.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Doesn't make any sense at all. What does "similar work" mean? Can you elaborate?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    So basically they contracted us to do a booster pump station and some well sites. They have never done this kind of work, so he does not want them to be able to use our drawings to do up future sites like these, internally, without doing some kind of work on their own. I know it sounds far fetch, but its what he is telling me.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The client could just as easily take paper drawings and ship them off to India or China and have them reproduced at a fraction of the cost they would pay you then use those drawings as the basis of any new design. There is nothing to stop them EXCEPT they won't be signed and stamped.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member Glen1980's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Glen1980's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Custom Rig
    Motherboard:
    Work: Intel Home: Gigabyte B95M
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4Ghz
    RAM:
    Work: 16GB Home: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 GHz
    Graphics:
    Work: NVIDIA Quaddro K2200 Home: Geforce GT 960
    Primary Storage:
    Work: 256GB SSD Home: 500GB Crucial MX100 SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Work: 500 GB 7200RPM Home: LAN access to drive
    Monitor:
    Work: Twin BENQ 22" Home: Single 29" Ultra wide LG
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Glen1980's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician - Residential
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    High Rise concrete frame. Low Rise traditional masonry construction Low Rise Timber Frame Conversion - Office, Schools & Colleges, Hospitals to residential flats/apartments.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts/Essex, England
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Are you worried they may reuse your blocks or use the drawings and tweak the layouts?

    If its blocks you are worried about you could explode then purge the drawings if you wanted to be unpopular with thier cad team!
    "Remember Baldrick, we are not at home to Mr Cock Up" - E Blackadder

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    /slaps forehead

    #1 - There is no difference in a PDF drawing vs a CAD drawing other than one you can author and one you cannot. The "design intent" is exactly the same so it doesn't stop this same company from taking your company's "design intent" and recreating it, regardless of CAD file. $20/hr CAD designers can recreate any sheet lickity split. I've done it on several occasions.

    #2 - They've never done this type of work before so what is your boss so worried about? People who just have "never done this type of work before" have to go through the same growing pains as everyone else, regardless of some petty authoring file. Designs go way beyond linework.

    #3 - If they contracted your company then why are they not allowed to take what's rightfully theirs? They're paying your company for services but... oh wait... they can't have "my" CAD file? Ridiculous. It's "their" CAD file because they paid for it unless that was contractually defined prior to signatures landing on paperwork.

    I remember years back an engineer wouldn't hand over a CAD file, claiming authoring files are "proprietary". So I had to recreate their drawing, which I did in 5 hours, and when they got their hands on it they swore we got a hold of their file somehow. So petty in my opinion.

    So to answer your question there's no way to lock down a DWG file. If you send them a DWG file you're sending them the authoring file - period. But your boss is being very unrealistic and worst, very unprofessional. Seems to me he's insecure in an area he needs not be. He's a professional and I'm sure handing over an authoring file that is the same file in which produced the drawing will cause zero harm to his future opportunities.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is your company legally contracted to send DWG files? If so not much you can do about it. If not then you don't have to.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Multiple Files From Client Don't open together
    By FLDesigner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2012, 10:08 pm
  2. dwg's will not print for one client
    By b.muqlueen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2008, 08:15 pm
  3. thin client
    By amanda phillips in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2007, 09:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts