+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 85
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you for the replies. I was simply asked by my boss to see what is the best way to send the drawings to them that they would not be able to easily use and recreate. I know it is not hard to recreat drawings from even pdfs, but this is what i was asked, so i just asked here seeing if anyone knew a good way to do it. I appreciate all the responses

  2. #12
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Yeah, alas there is no read only DWG. Closest thing would be a DWF but even those are not 100%.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #13
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnyamorales View Post
    Thank you for the replies. I was simply asked by my boss to see what is the best way to send the drawings to them that they would not be able to easily use and recreate. I know it is not hard to recreat drawings from even pdfs, but this is what i was asked, so i just asked here seeing if anyone knew a good way to do it. I appreciate all the responses
    Also note that if your boss is "that" worried about it, then don't create vector PDF's but raster. There are freebie PDF to DWG conversion software applications that exist which does a fairly decent job at creating a scaled DWG from a PDF. Again, no way to lock down a DWG, and would defeat the purpose of the client asking for it anyways. They're not asking for the "DWG" as much as they're asking for the "authoring file". Sending a DWG that is not able to be authored is not why they are asking for it.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #14
    Super Member Glen1980's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Glen1980's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Custom Rig
    Motherboard:
    Work: Intel Home: Gigabyte B95M
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4Ghz
    RAM:
    Work: 16GB Home: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 GHz
    Graphics:
    Work: NVIDIA Quaddro K2200 Home: Geforce GT 960
    Primary Storage:
    Work: 256GB SSD Home: 500GB Crucial MX100 SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Work: 500 GB 7200RPM Home: LAN access to drive
    Monitor:
    Work: Twin BENQ 22" Home: Single 29" Ultra wide LG
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Glen1980's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician - Residential
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    High Rise concrete frame. Low Rise traditional masonry construction Low Rise Timber Frame Conversion - Office, Schools & Colleges, Hospitals to residential flats/apartments.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts/Essex, England
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    /slaps foreheadThey're paying your company for services but... oh wait... they can't have "my" CAD file? Ridiculous. It's "their" CAD file because they paid for it unless that was contractually defined prior to signatures landing on paperwork.
    This might all depend on geographical location, intellectual property laws are different country to country. I'm fairly certain in the UK the drawing remain the property of whoever drew it and the person who paid has basically got a licence to use it. That said no sub contractor has ever refused to send me a drawing and I've never been told to withold a drawing from anyone, so it would all depend on keeping the goodwill of your client.
    "Remember Baldrick, we are not at home to Mr Cock Up" - E Blackadder

  5. #15
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    I.P. is ridiculous on all facets and I refuse to even discuss such an absurd topic.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Agreed Glen, that is why I asked about what was in the contract. Just because I am hired to draw something does not automatically make the design file theirs. It has to be stipulated in the contract and then agreed upon. This could also lead to people losing bids due to their unwillingness to agree to certain terms.
    Ran into this when I worked at (doughnut chain based in NC). A local architect had written into his contract that he retained all right to the design of this one store. The VP at the time had no experience in this matter (he was only in position because of who his family was and how much stock he owned) and agreed to this.
    So the company decided to replicate this design in other locations and he sued them. There was a settlement and sour feelings from that point on. This was before I was there and I found about about when we were doing a remodel and I requested the CAD files for the store. After a long story I started work on creating the CAD file from the printed files as this was all I was getting.
    From that point the company had written in the contract that they retain ALL rights to said designs.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #17
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,036

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Just because I am hired to draw something does not automatically make the design file theirs.
    Oh yes it does. It's "automatically" theirs unless the hired party says otherwise and it's signed off by the paying party. Any entity that pays money for a design file should have the right to own, store and protect that design file if they paid for it. What happens if the original company goes under? Or if they didn't properly archive and protect the original authoring files? What then, if years later those authoring files are needed for future expansion or ANY reason?

    How is that even considered the correct way of doing things? Boggles my mind...
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Up to the contract and the parties involved is all I can say. That was one "excuse" I was given about the store in question. I was told that design was on a older system (versacad) they no longer maintained and that I was out of luck. He also had the legal contract where it was stated that he maintained control of that store design and all aspects within that were not direct company logos.
    There was a curved glass wall in this store that was used up against the doughnut production line that was be replicated in another store (along with other design elements). He found out and pitched a fit. He produced a contract and obviously had them with it. This was in the early 90's iirc.
    There are LOTS of business/political practices that can boggle the mind that go on everyday (and have for decades).
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #19
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnyamorales View Post
    He is worried that they will use the drawings to do similar work on their own.
    He should have thought of that before accepting the project. If you don't trust the client, don't work for them.

    I'm fairly certain that there is nothing ground breaking about the design and that any competent firm similar to the one you work for could design something that would work. If it is a design that "could" establish a new way of getting the job done, then he definitely should have done something to protect it before even thinking about letting anyone else see it.

    A drawing is just a representation of the design and it is abundantly clear that it can be reproduced in CAD with minimal effort. I think at some point we all have thought of trying to protect our hard work and it is hard to come to the realization that it can be reproduced in a variety of ways. After all, it's just ink on paper that represents a design, which is where the real work is done.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Didn't some company come up with a program (lisp, VBA, C++?) that can effectively lock a drawing so basically all one can do with it is view/print it? Maybe it was DotSoft or ManuSoft? I can't recall at the moment.

    Seems TF abandoned the debate. I think his throat was scratchy.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple Files From Client Don't open together
    By FLDesigner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2012, 10:08 pm
  2. dwg's will not print for one client
    By b.muqlueen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2008, 08:15 pm
  3. thin client
    By amanda phillips in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2007, 09:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts