Stuck

autocadby

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to Autocad having used it years ago, but just started using 2015 for work. I work for an engineering company and am required to draw small components right through to steel beam structures etc.

The thing that I am having trouble with is drawing a chimnea that my boss has designed.

I have attached the 2d drawing of it, but I want to draw a 3d model of it but it is proving incredibly tricky.

I just wanted to put it out there to see if any experienced 3d autocaders had any idea of a good place to start drawing this.

Also I just wondered if anyone could give me an idea is there is a way that you can copy the drawing 3 times and use autocad to change the perspective of the parts to piece them together like a jigsaw.

I know I sound like a noob, but thats because I am.

Apologies if I have broken any rules.

Please see attached file.

Its a 3 sided structure all identical sides and because of all the angles involved its baking my noodle. Hopefully someone can help with a magic tool or something although that seems unlikely. Its good to be here as I have used this forum many times to solve other issues.

Chimnea-Draft1 Layout1 (1).pdf

I have attached the 2d drawing of it,....

That doesn't look like a standard 2D drawing to me?

If I am understanding the design intent - I would Loft to Point and do some trimming.

Edited by JD Mather

I drew the basic shape, created the triangular outline, and then worked out the centre point for the base, then it is a fairly simple matter to find the apex with a vertical line and circle, from there I used align to place the sides (you only need do that once and then rotate with copy for the others), it just means changing the UCS a couple of times.

chimnea.dwg

Thanks both so much for your replies. I am forever grateful. steven-g that makes perfect sense to me thanks.

Remark can you explain the process. I understand how to extrude but not sure how that would work.

Thanks everyone