How to draw a Cranked Beam/Slab in AutoCAD-MEP?

James7s

Hey guys,

I am very new to AutoCAD-MEP, and I am actually not using it at all.

I am looking into switching from Vanilla AutoCAD (2D Drawing) to MEP in next project, and I am now assuming I was using MEP in my current project (by Try-and-error) to familiar with it before dealing with a real project.

But I am now facing a problem, I know that I could used "Structural Member Style Wizard" to create difference size of "Beam" object, and add it into drawing with "Beamadd" Command. But, When I look into the structural details sheet in my project, the structural engineer have created a lot more wrie-shaped beam. for example: Cranked Beam

cranked beam.jpg

I know that, If I "have to" make it, I would draw 3 beam object to "simulate" a solid beam like that.(if a silly method works, then it is a good method).

But, during my current project, the Architect just keep moving the wall, partition line and even the floor level(about twice a month, average) and the Structural engineer keep changing size of beam even few days before concreted(OMG how they could do that?),

I would better to find a method to create section and analysis the consequence (In terms of MEP Service) of such changes in a very short time.

I wonder if I could create a crank beam or a cranked slab object?

Structural Members in AutoCAD MEP are based on Profiles. All you would have to do is create a profile and apply it to a custom structural member. If/when the profile changes, it'll automatically updated the 3D geometry when you make the changes at a later time.