+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    minja's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy How to create a surface?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have been searching for a very long time and i hope you can help me this way cause i found nothing. The thing is, i have a polyline and set its thickness but i need something like 3DFACE which can cover those open areas on the bottom and top. Nothing ever worked, except for dividing it into million pieces and applying 3dface/loft for each, lol
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Only need 4 curves and Loft.
    Attach your dwg here.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    minja's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for quick response. Here's my .dwg file. I guess it's easy to make flat surface on any polyline whether it's rectangular or like this one. I'm going to use this a lot, so are there any specific commands?
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    How did you create that geometry?
    Why are there 10 million points for such simple geometry?

    I would create with simple lines and arcs.
    Join each of the longer sides.
    This would leave you with four sides.
    Loft between the two shorter sides using the longer sides as the guide curves.
    Use the Thicken command if you want a solid.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  5. #5
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    342

    Default Use Region or SURFNETWORK

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Since the shape is 2D why not make it a region? I would first recreate the shape using splines and then the region command. See the attached file. Be sure to use Conceptual for the Visual Style so you can see the result. You can also create a surface using SURFNETWORK. Here is the dialog with my comments (do this after you have made the outline of the shape with 4 splines:
    Command: _SURFNETWORK
    Select curves or surface edges in first direction:1 found <-- select the long side near the bottom
    Select curves or surface edges in first direction:1 found, 2 total <-- select the other long side near the bottom
    Select curves or surface edges in first direction: <-- ENTER
    Select curves or surface edges in second direction:1 found<-- select the short side near the left
    Select curves or surface edges in second direction:1 found, 2 total <-- select the other short side near the left
    Select curves or surface edges in second direction: <-- ENTER

    floor2.dwg

Similar Threads

  1. About create contours from a surface.
    By jcaz15 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2013, 09:34 am
  2. Cannot Create a Surface - LDD 2007
    By SaveLDD in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2013, 12:28 pm
  3. create cut fill surface from excisting surface in Civil 3d
    By smileyours in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2013, 09:26 pm
  4. Help to create surface
    By kama1005 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2010, 11:34 pm
  5. need to create a flat surface on curved surface
    By harley558 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2010, 05:28 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts