+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 3d solid colors

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default 3d solid colors

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi!

    How can I set different colors for 3d solid cube?
    (I don't want to explode, because I will lose the height/width/length data, from the properties window.)

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Welcome to the Forum, Nagygabor679!

    Please check if the SOLIDEDIT command with Edge --> Color options is what you were looking for.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    ...or Face and coLor

    Color Faces.PNG
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    ...or hold Ctrl+Pick, which isolates the the individual Face. This is also true for all sub-object elements, such as Face, Vertex, or Edge.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for everybody! The Ctrl+Pick is the most simple solution.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Oops! After that, the height/width/length properties missing from Properties window. How can I set the 3d solid height/width/length now?
    How can I see the set the 3d solid height/width/length now (by keyboard)?

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    In AutoCAD, only 3D primitive objects have editable height/width/length/radius/etc properties. After manually applying property overrides to individual faces, the 3D solid is no longer a "primitive" object so you have to use Grips or the SOLIDEDIT tools to modify the object dimensions.

Similar Threads

  1. Colors plotting as colors, despite ctb set to black.
    By Big Mike in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2014, 08:09 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2012, 02:03 pm
  3. AutoCAD: Best practice: fill hole in solid, remove region from solid
    By MichaelBrenden in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 08:31 pm
  4. Change pastel colors to alternative colors by layer & elements & blocks
    By deucer in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2010, 06:13 pm
  5. Solid colors are hidden when printing.
    By uhcafigdc in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2009, 08:40 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts