+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    HVAC
    MorgaineDax's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Details
    Building design and coordination for a mechanical contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    9

    Cool UCS and Modelspace Viewport Problems

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So we do a lot of 3D coordination using AutoCAD and Fabrication, and since we upgraded to 2015, we've been having a lot of issues with viewports and the UCS.

    We all typically have at 3 viewports in modelspace. One big one for the plan view, one front view, and a side view. We change them a lot on the fly depending on what we need to see. For example, we'll place a line of ductwork in the plan view and then switch over to one of the side or front views to check clearances between services and adjust accordingly.

    However, now the viewports keep changing their UCS and we don't know how to fix it. So we'll set a view port to plan view, go to the front view, and not be able to move or dimension anything properly because the UCS looks like it's matching the plan view? Instead of having Y pointing "up" and x pointing "right" in every viewport, the UCS in every viewport will relate to the last view you set.

    We're assuming it's some variable that didn't get carried over in the upgrade, but no one can figure out how to get it back to the way we usually draft.

    Don't know if this is the proper forum, but please help?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Check out this snippet from the SYSVDLG regarding UCSVP, might be the variable you are after.
    NOTE that it is VIEWPORT SPECIFIC. I hope that helps you.

    Or might you just want to set your UCSFOLLOW variable to 1?

    It is always a good idea to keep a current .SVF (System Variable File) for safe keeping.
    To create one, at the bottom of the SYSVDLG box, choose SAVE ALL, as insurance against just
    such an inevitability, a system crash or other CADastrophy.
    In that way it is very easy to load, or restore your personal preferences on any machine.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Dadgad; 15th Jul 2014 at 01:35 pm.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Could it be that the Dynamic UCS feature is enabled?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Spaj's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Spaj's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5K
    CPU:
    Intel E8400
    RAM:
    4096Mb
    Graphics:
    MSI Nvidia GTX660 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive 128GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WD Black 1TB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 27" LCD
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Maybe try UCSFOLLOW 1 > UCS W > UCSFOLLOW 0

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    HVAC
    MorgaineDax's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Details
    Building design and coordination for a mechanical contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Check out this snippet from the SYSVDLG regarding UCSVP, might be the variable you are after.
    NOTE that it is VIEWPORT SPECIFIC. I hope that helps you.
    I think this fixed it on my workstation; I'll see if it works for everyone else in the office. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    HVAC
    MorgaineDax's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Details
    Building design and coordination for a mechanical contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MorgaineDax View Post
    I think this fixed it on my workstation; I'll see if it works for everyone else in the office. Thanks!
    Nope, that fixes it somewhat, but there's another bug that keeps popping up now. You'll be working fine in multiple viewports for a while, but eventually the other UCSs in the other VPs will grey themselves out and when you switch over to work in a different viewport, you won't be able to annotate and move objects properly.

    You can use the view controls in the locked VP to get the UCS unlocked, but then it locks the other ones. So I'll work in top view for a while and it'll be fine. But then I move to a front view and I'll only be able to move or draw side to side, but not up or down.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MorgaineDax View Post
    Nope, that fixes it somewhat, but there's another bug that keeps popping up now. You'll be working fine in multiple viewports for a while, but eventually the other UCSs in the other VPs will grey themselves out and when you switch over to work in a different viewport, you won't be able to annotate and move objects properly.

    You can use the view controls in the locked VP to get the UCS unlocked, but then it locks the other ones. So I'll work in top view for a while and it'll be fine. But then I move to a front view and I'll only be able to move or draw side to side, but not up or down.
    Sorry to hear that didn't fix it for you. Did you remember to enter an appropriate value, in each of the viewports, as opposed to just once,
    assuming that the setting would be global?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    HVAC
    MorgaineDax's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Technician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Details
    Building design and coordination for a mechanical contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Sorry to hear that didn't fix it for you. Did you remember to enter an appropriate value, in each of the viewports, as opposed to just once,
    assuming that the setting would be global?
    I definitely remembered that! Which did fix the issues for the UCS flipping around and changing to Z,X or Z,Y in relation to the first VP. I'm just not sure if this "greyed out" new problem is related or a separate bug or variable problem.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MorgaineDax View Post
    I definitely remembered that! Which did fix the issues for the UCS flipping around and changing to Z,X or Z,Y in relation to the first VP. I'm just not sure if this "greyed out" new problem is related or a separate bug or variable problem.
    Might there be another computer available, which is operating as you would like it to, upon which you could
    save an .svf (system variable file), so that you can apply those settings to one of the computers
    which is misbehaving, as a test?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I had a similar problem before and as far as I remember 'UCSORTHO' set to '1' fixed it.

Similar Threads

  1. Linked viewport modelspace
    By OMEGA-ThundeR in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2014, 02:43 pm
  2. Modelspace Dimensions in Viewport
    By SLW210 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2012, 08:00 pm
  3. Visible in Viewport, not in modelspace
    By Kremer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2011, 10:56 pm
  4. VBA Viewport to ModelSpace coordinates..
    By hardwired in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2008, 04:47 pm
  5. Viewport <> ModelSpace Relation (VBA)
    By iTijn in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th Oct 2007, 05:35 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts