+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member MinaRAI's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default Tan Tan Radius question

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I'd like to draw the image below in 2D but I hit a problem with the bottom part in relation to the side radius of 3.5mm.

    Drawn the circle with a radius of .75 so I can use the "Circle>Tan Tan Radius" command to make the radius 4.25mm. Trimmed the excess edges and used PEDIT so I can apply offset .75mm outwards. The offset polyline showed some error that did not gel well with the bottom portioon. (the error is encircled in red). Edges would not meet as in the drawing exercise.



    Now redone it using the Tan Tan Radius based on the bigger diameter but the result is the same as that of the .75 offset polyline result.

    Now if I tried to drag the endpoints to meet the end of the 1.5mm x 4mm base but the radius will change. It says there that the radius will change to 4.008mm. Drawing exercise says it should be radius of 3.5mm.

    Same with the bottom portion. If I drag the bottom part to meet the excess of the circle/arc created via the tan tan radius, 1.5mm x the 4mm dim will be affected. See image attached.



    The other dims are correct but this radiius of 3.5mm is not. There could be something wrong with the way I did the circle with the Tan Tan Radius....

    How will you do the drawing if it were you....?

    Can you teach a self-studier some tips and tricks please...

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    hoss's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1600
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    South Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    236

    Default

    Can you attach an image or the drawing
    its hard to follow what you are trying to do without a picture
    AutoCAD 2012 & AutoCAD MEP 2011

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    In my opinion the dimensions are all correct. It is your approach that is in error. Draw the perimeter first then offset to the inside. Trim as required. Like this...

    DwgExercise.PNG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MinaRAI View Post
    Drawn the circle with a radius of .75 ....
    This dimension is not on your drawing...
    Work from the outside towards the inside as ReMark suggested.

    1. You know that the center of the arc is somewhere in space 3.5 from the endpoint of the 1.5 vertical line.
    2. You know that the center of the arc is somewhere in space 5 (1.5+3.5) from the center of the smaller circle.

    There are only two points in space that satisfy both of those conditions.
    One of the two possible solutions does not make logical sense.
    You have found the unique solution. (the construction lines in the image below are not needed - I included them only for illustration)
    Solution.png
    Last edited by JD Mather; 22nd Jul 2014 at 11:53 am.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  5. #5
    Full Member MinaRAI's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Oh wow! Thank you for the set of instructions there. I really went from slow to very slow understanding or trying to remember drafting 101...I had the chance to do it in a different version. Please see below.



    Someone mentioned also that this can be done via a point_tan_radius..

    Can you guys help me understand that too...

    I really appreciate the guide drawings. Thanks very much for that. Please bear with me as I am currently having trouble with where to go for self-study at the moment as the previous location I did went is having problems. Had to do the drawing based on the illustrations and a couple help from other concerned gurus on a different version(2013). And it took me hours for just this one...(no kidding on it. I think I went blank trying to grasp the newer version from 2010 from which I also am trying to use. Had just started late June till now intermittently.)

Similar Threads

  1. radius
    By garylu in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2014, 04:00 am
  2. Radius & Translation Question
    By svrkjg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2012, 08:40 am
  3. Basic question: How to edit the location and radius of a hole in a block?
    By zmarcoz in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2012, 10:32 am
  4. Stretch a circle with grips and specify the radius or change in radius
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2010, 09:31 am
  5. Arc with Radius
    By unforgiven_576 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2008, 10:33 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts