Autodesk MEP 13 - Pipe hangers

GIB39

Hi

I am an absolute beginner when it comes to MEP therefore any help would be much appreciated.

I am required to show pipe route showing expansion bellows and pipe supports/anchor points incorporated.

I think the expansion bellows are part of the MEP standard library however for the pipe supports I'm very uncertain on how to accomplish this.

I will require a single pipe support from a ceiling mounted channel/rail complete with drop rod down to the pipe support something similar to that manufactured by Flamco.

Does anyone know how or if this is possible to implement within MEP?

Thanks in advance.

Yes It is possible with the tools from AutoCAD Architecture that are part of AMEP.

First thing you want yo do is draw the profile shapes of the structural members you want to create. you have to draw them as a closed poly line. So draw a circle with the diameter of the threaded rod you want and draw the shape of the angle iron you want.

open the style manager by going to the manage tab

Click on the left icon under "shape geometry" and choose your angle poly line, and then the insertion point. Highlight low detail and repeat the last step . Highlight high detail and repeat. AMEP I believe only uses medium detail. You can use high or low in your own custom display Reps. you can have different shape definitions for high and low. Just a line to display the angle for low, and a closed poly line with chamferd edges for high. AutoCAD architecture uses it more.

Now click on the right icon under "Shape geometry". Clicking this icon is the same as right clicking Structural member styles under architectural objects and choosing new. Name your new style "4 Inch Angle" for example.