+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112

    Question Revit to autodesk MEP and vice versa

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Im relatively new to both software packages but is it possible to import revit into a autodesk model and vice versa.

    If not which is the way forward Revit or autodesk MEP for future BIM projects?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    The two platforms are not inter-operable.

    AutoCAD does not do BIM. So Revit is the way to go.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    I agree with Rob. "BIM" (aka Building Information Modeling) was was actually deployed as a marketing strategy from Autodesk to promote Revit back in 2002. So, Revit "is" BIM. AutoCAD based products are incapable of the true BIM process so nix AutoCAD and look into Revit.

    -Tannar
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112

    Default

    BIM is something I'm not too familiar with tbh but its something i need to understand asap particularly what it can and can't do. Surley Autodesk MEP is BIM compliant depending upon what level of BIM is required. Is that correct?

    One other thing. What is the best way to become familiar with the BIM process and Revit. I've done the basic Revit autodesk course but that only touched the surface so to speak!! Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112

    Default

    It's a mine field really. Quite daunting for a beginner who is use to 2D AutoCAD.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GIB39 View Post
    Surley Autodesk MEP is BIM compliant depending upon what level of BIM is required. Is that correct?
    This is not correct. AutoCAD MEP is not parametric, nor is it a collaborative-capable platform, thus cannot be true BIM. It is partial compatibility with certain aspects that the BIM process is made up of (IFC objects, individual parametric parts, object based informational embedding, etc), but either a software is 100% compliant with BIM or it's not BIM.

    What AutoCAD MEP is, is a copy-cat of the Revit MEP platform in certain areas of functionality. It provides you with great tools to generate 3D models, which gives you something called "3D Spatial" models but not "BIM". The #1 item that nixes AMEP as BIM is the fact that only one user can access a DWG file at one time. Revit is different, containing a centralized model that anybody can access at the same time, which in turn gives you a true collaborative environment previously unheard of with CAD applications for the AEC industry.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GIB39 View Post
    Surley Autodesk MEP is BIM compliant depending upon what level of BIM is required. Is that correct?
    Yeah, it was, until the Revit guys redefined BIM to mean the same level of integration as Revit.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    How is that possible when AMEP showed up after Revit and BIM arrived on the scene?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The Revit crowd is getting bigger and louder.

    There's an abundance of "BIM" classes in the Autodesk University archives for AutoCAD vertical products, so clearly someone is redefining "BIM"

Similar Threads

  1. convert .ipt to .prt and vice versa
    By AfricanDan in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd May 2012, 10:33 pm
  2. Converting MS to PS and vice versa
    By Lithium in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2009, 08:39 pm
  3. ecad to mcad and vice versa
    By larsulph in forum Electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2008, 07:18 pm
  4. Convert .cdr to .dwg or vice versa?
    By todorb2000 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2008, 11:12 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts