+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member Sbeth85's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    181

    Default Annotative dimensions in VP--> wrong scale?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have an annotative DimStyle that's been working fine- when I'm in a VP set 1:25 the dimensions will scale correctly. Out of nowhere, even through my VP is set to 1:25, all my dimensions are coming out with a 1:10 annotative scale, making them far too small.

    How come my dimensions aren't automatically in the same scale as my VP?
    DimAssoc is 2, Dimlfac is 1. In Model space with the scale set to 1:25 the dimensions come out in the appropriate size. Just in the VP in PS it's not coming out correctly.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Perhaps a duplicate scale, or a duplicate dimstyle?

    Can you attach a sample dwg that has the problem.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    What is the annotation scale of the viewport? It can be set to a different scale than the view scale of the viewport.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Sbeth85's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    181

    Default

    RobDraw...
    1. Could you explain the difference between the annotation scale of a viewport and the viewscale of a viewport?

    2. I think I solved it, thanks to your hints... CANNOSCALE was set to 1:10 even though the VP was set to scale 1:25_1. So, I changed CANNOSCALE to 1:25_1 and now the dims are coming out ok. But how in the world did it ever get set to 1:10 to begin with? Before this whole thing the dims were coming out fine, their size was automatically matching the scale of the VP. What went wrong?


    Thank you both!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Sbeth85's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    181

    Default

    nestly, here's a link, since it's too big for the cadtutor server:

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9f...it?usp=sharing

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    The annotation scale sets which scale annotatively scaled objects will display at. It does not affect the display of other objects. Viewscale affects everything.
    Attached Images
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Sbeth85's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Weird... how did mine get out of whack?

    Also, random question- how do you upload images like you just did? Do you do printscreen, save it in Paint and crop to size and save to a JPG, then upload it via Cadtutor? Is there a quicker method?

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    I can't answer the first question.

    That is almost exactly how I usually do it, except I save to .png. I also, use Windows' snipping tool.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    I use the Windows snipping tool, no additional software required.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As you try to figure out how it got out of whack, check in your dimstyle manager,
    on the fit tab as shown in the screen snip. I believe that might cause such a problem,
    but could be wrong, as I don't use any of the Annotative features.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Dadgad; 28th Jul 2014 at 01:27 pm.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Annotative dimensions change to annotative$0
    By jpugh in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th May 2013, 01:55 pm
  2. Annotative Scales - Am i doing it wrong?
    By guitarguy1685 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 08:46 am
  3. annotative dimensions losing the scale visually speaking
    By KiLLiNG-TiME in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2010, 05:52 pm
  4. Wrong unit or wrong scale?
    By annie26789 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2010, 07:07 pm
  5. displaying annotative dimensions in a viewport that not the correct scale?????????
    By MikeP in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2010, 12:52 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts