+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A linetype definition itemises all the "pen ups" (negative distances) and "pen downs" (positive distances) to form the required pattern.

    The standard Phantom linetype definition is :-

    *PHANTOM,Phantom ______ __ __ ______ __ __ ______
    A,1.25,-.25,.25,-.25,.25,-.25

    and that is not yet defined in your definition.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dal-designs's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF
    Discipline
    Construction
    dal-designs's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer in Oil and Gas Industry
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    facilities planning (retail/wholesale fuels and chemicals) aerial surveying and GIS mapping; building design, facilities planning, land development
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Gotcha. How would that definition work with text interspaced? Would it be something like "... A,1.25,-.25,.25,-.25,.25,-.25 PL A,1.25,-.25,.25,-.25,.25,-.25 PL" etc, or am I way off?

    (This is the first time I've worked with custom line types, so please bear with me).

  3. #13
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    When you want to embed text into the linetype, follow the example of the Propline defintion you posted before. The embedded text or shape is in the square brackets, and gives you factors to scale, shift in the x and y directions, and to rotate or place Upright. Remember that each font file has different dimensions for the actual letters, so getting the x and y offsets for one font, may look different for another font.

    You can probably get a lot more information if you look up Linetype Definitions in your Help file.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I got it to work using the Standard font and by emulating the line length and spacing of the Phantom(.5X) linetype with a slight tweak. See for yourself....

    PropertyLineLTYPE.jpg

    This is what my linetype definition file looks like.

    *PROPLINE,Property Line ___ _ _ ___ PL ___ _ _ ___ PL ___ _ _ ___ PL
    A,.625,-.125,.125,-.125,.125,-.125,.625,-.2,["PL",Standard,S=.1,U=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-.05],-.2
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    PropertyLineLTYPE_TXT.jpg

    Same linetype with a slight difference. Although Standard is the font that is called for I simply changed the font name used by Standard from the default of Arial to Txt. Note the spacing difference on either side of the letters.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #16
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    Or even slightly overlap the letters.
    Attached Images

  7. #17
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #18
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    dal-designs's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF
    Discipline
    Construction
    dal-designs's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer in Oil and Gas Industry
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    facilities planning (retail/wholesale fuels and chemicals) aerial surveying and GIS mapping; building design, facilities planning, land development
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the help, everyone. Remark's definition is exactly what I needed- but it's good to know I was at least pretty close, and Eldon's explanation of what all that shorthand actually means helped, too.

Similar Threads

  1. font become question marks
    By samifox in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2012, 01:01 pm
  2. Pressing F3 shows text window
    By Ghazi Toutounji in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2010, 04:39 pm
  3. Question Marks in Drawing
    By canyon289 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Oct 2008, 09:05 am
  4. Text displayed as question marks
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2006, 12:10 am
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2006, 02:51 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts