+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    41

    Default How to change text in a linetype

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm drawing up a landscape plan at work and would like to edit the text in some of these linetypes.
    No idea how to really explain it properly, but hoping the attached image should explain what i'm looking for.
    I tried googling it, but couldnt come up with the correct phrase to explain what I was searching for.
    If anybody could link me to a page that explains it that would be greatly appreciated
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    You will need to adjust their definition. Do you have access to the LIN file containing them?
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Please check the function LT_THF from this page; it will print on screen the definition of current linetype. Copy that into an ASCII (text) file with LIN extension and adjust it to suit your needs. Call the LTYPE command to load the new definition into current drawing.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MSasu View Post
    Please check the function LT_THF from this page; it will print on screen the definition of current linetype. Copy that into an ASCII (text) file with LIN extension and adjust it to suit your needs. Call the LTYPE command to load the new definition into current drawing.
    The LISPs linked by rkmcswain in the last post in your link work also.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Are you thinking about change the font that is being used?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I have located the acad.lin and acadiso.lin file and can edit them both.
    I'm just not sure how to add a new linetype e.g. --- ME --- ME ---

  7. #7
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Use one of the tools from the page I suggested above and copy that definition to a LIN file; adjust it to suit your needs (there is information in help on definition's syntax).
    I suggest you to don't add your custom linetype definitions to acad.lin or acadiso.lin since those were system files and may lost them at a certain point (i.e. when un-install AutoCAD).
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    MeMeMeLine.jpg
    It was already suggested that you borrow and edit an existing linetype and use it as the basis for your new, custom linetype. See example above? That was based on the Gas_Line linetype that comes standard with AutoCAD.

    This is what the linetype definition file looks like.

    *ME_LINE,ME line ----ME----ME----ME----ME----ME----ME--
    A,.5,-.2,["ME",STANDARD,S=.1,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-.05],-.25

    Now I have no idea what units you're working in or whether or not the line length and spacing suits your needs but it would be easy to tweak the above definition file to make it suit your needs. Now it's your turn. Go. Do. Have fun.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. I cannot change the LineType in my layers :(
    By salaxi in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2013, 05:31 pm
  2. Change Linetype
    By jmerch in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2012, 09:29 am
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2011, 12:06 am
  4. cannot change linetype
    By shooter1 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2010, 09:32 pm
  5. linetype doesn't change
    By Stiff in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2009, 09:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts