+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member tipu_sultane's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tipu_sultane's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Computer:
    Not One
    Motherboard:
    Varies
    CPU:
    Either Desktop or Laptop
    RAM:
    Enough to Run AutoCAD
    Graphics:
    Never Noticed
    Primary Storage:
    Hard Disk
    Secondary Storage:
    USB
    Monitor:
    LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    tipu_sultane's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Engineer with specialization in Telecommunication
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Nomadic.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Rawalpindi, Punjab, Pakistan, Asia, Earth, Universe
    Posts
    33

    Default Insert Excel Sheet into CAD File.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How to insert the Excel File in CAD file. I am using AutoCAD 2012. I used io command and try to attach file by browse tab, but facing two problems.
    1.) The attached file result display not full sheet i.e not all rows and columns that I want to display in CAD file.


    2.) It only attaches the first sheet from the file. i.e If I want to attached other sheet from the same file what to do.


    Thanks.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Either insert as an OLE object or use the DataLink feature of the Table command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    OLEs can be buggy. Tables are cool.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Junior Member CEEinOrlando's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CEEinOrlando's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell "MAC DADDY"
    Monitor:
    2 too many
    Discipline
    Electrical
    CEEinOrlando's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Electrical Engineer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Orlando,Fl.
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I have been using Clipboard "Paste". Paste special. Paste link. AutoCAD Entities. And it has worked. If the Excel gets updated it lets you know when you open the drawing.

    But the problem I am having is. Once I insert, all the text is small. How can I set the excel text to be a standard size?

  5. #5
    Junior Member CEEinOrlando's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CEEinOrlando's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell "MAC DADDY"
    Monitor:
    2 too many
    Discipline
    Electrical
    CEEinOrlando's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Electrical Engineer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Orlando,Fl.
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    OLEs can be buggy. Tables are cool.
    Can you use a table with Excel? Or is it buggy?

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    I just started playing with tables in AutoCAD linked to ones that are created in Excel and am liking it. Formatting/data can be done on either side or both depending on how you set up the data link. Some things are easier to do in Excel before linking. It took me a few tries to find a method that worked for how I wanted it to work.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Spaj's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Spaj's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5K
    CPU:
    Intel E8400
    RAM:
    4096Mb
    Graphics:
    MSI Nvidia GTX660 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive 128GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WD Black 1TB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 27" LCD
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CEEinOrlando View Post
    I have been using Clipboard "Paste". Paste special. Paste link. AutoCAD Entities. And it has worked. If the Excel gets updated it lets you know when you open the drawing.

    But the problem I am having is. Once I insert, all the text is small. How can I set the excel text to be a standard size?
    Try the StripMText Lisp on the table in AutoCAD. This strips out the individual cell formating and makes manipulating the table a lot less frustrating.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spaj View Post
    Try StripMText on the table in AutoCAD. This strips out the individual cell formating and makes manipulating the table a lot less frustrating.
    Couldn't this be done with proper setup of the table style and the data link properties?

    I've been formatting the Excel file to suit our needs, So, I haven't played with that setting, yet.
    Attached Images
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spaj View Post
    Try the StripMText Lisp on the table in AutoCAD. This strips out the individual cell formating and makes manipulating the table a lot less frustrating.
    Wait, does that even work on OLE objects?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you don't need to change the information in these work sheets once you place them I suggest converting them to pdf's then inserting them.

Similar Threads

  1. Sheet Set: Insert Sheet List Table Content Format/Template Issue
    By Cadologist in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2015, 08:31 pm
  2. Lisp to read excel file to insert text values at coordinates
    By gilsoto13 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2013, 10:09 am
  3. Insert an Excel sheet into autocad
    By Sudhir in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2012, 06:16 am
  4. Insert Excel file to Cad
    By BEKA in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2010, 05:37 pm
  5. insert a field into an embedded excel sheet
    By Doove in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2009, 01:42 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts