+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Creating image files from each of the tabs is not a bad idea but I cannot think of one good reason for using PDFs. Having just one in a file causes performance issues. I would highly recommend not using PDFs unless you like slow drawings.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  2. #12
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Was going to reply with quote but it's not working for me some reason, anyway pdf's with graphics I have found can slow down your computer because every time you move, resize, zoom, what have you the program has to redraw the graphics. If you don't have any graphics in your pdf and just text then the performance of the program is hardly noticeable. I use battery calculations in my drawings all the time and never had an issue. In fact I found it easier to change the data in the excel file then convert it to the pdf format with the same name as what I have inserted into the drawing, then when I open the drawing the new data is already there because really it's a xref. I would post a drawing but for some reason I cant upload any files, I don't know why. The little spinny thing just keeps spinning.

  3. #13
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Okay, I have never inserted a PDF with just text and wouldn't have thought it would be any different.

    Have you tried tables in AutoCAD, yet?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #14
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't know why pdf's with just text compared to pdf's with graphics makes a difference but I know that it does. Also when I do insert a pdf I put it in paperspace because it's typically a 8 1/2 by 11 so it will fit on my layout. The only time I use a table is for a legend. I have a program that's creates a BOM in excel and I just import that then edit it and place my symbols in the extra cells that I create, but I could do that in Adobe too... hmmmm.

Similar Threads

  1. Sheet Set: Insert Sheet List Table Content Format/Template Issue
    By Cadologist in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2015, 08:31 pm
  2. Lisp to read excel file to insert text values at coordinates
    By gilsoto13 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2013, 10:09 am
  3. Insert an Excel sheet into autocad
    By Sudhir in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2012, 06:16 am
  4. Insert Excel file to Cad
    By BEKA in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2010, 05:37 pm
  5. insert a field into an embedded excel sheet
    By Doove in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2009, 01:42 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts