+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    jamesssydney's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Asus
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1

    Default Slice a 3D polyline between a solid shape

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Evening All

    I work as a design assistant for a West End Set Designer who loves working in forced perspective & vanishing points.

    My question is how do I slice/trim a 3d polyline that runs through a solid. I basically want to cut the line once it touches the face of the solid. I would be also happy to add a node.

    Attached is a small example of the working file.

    Look forward to your responses

    Cheers

    James
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    763

    Default

    James,


    I don't believe that can be done. However as an alternative perhaps you can extrude/sweep a small circle along the 3D polyline then create an interference solid, subtract from the swept solid then trim by the face.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  3. #3
    Senior Member rvpas's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rvpas's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Seven Pro
    Computer:
    laptop HP EliteBook 8760w - workstation hp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    rvpas's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    building CAD designer and AUTOCAD ATC instructor free lance
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Help to design building with architect work with REVIT and AUTOCAD during the step of conception, follow the contruction site, building survey. ATC Instructor with trainng center 2d 3d AUTOCAD and REVIT
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    180

    Default

    Hi James,


    To find a point of intersection between the line and the face.
    you can use the old command 'cal and expression ilp


    Command: _break
    Select object:
    Specify second break point or [First point]: _f
    Specify first break point: 'cal
    >>>> Expression: ilp(end,end,end,end,end)
    >>>> Select entity for END snap:
    >>>> Select entity for END snap:
    >>>> Select entity for END snap:
    >>>> Select entity for END snap:
    >>>> Select entity for END snap:
    Resuming BREAK command.
    Specify first break point: 266.3632932838,44.570154537148,92.980182909103
    Specify second break point: @
    'cal open the Prompt Calculator inside the comand see help for more informations.
    ilp(end,end,end,end,end) is an expression, end is object snap
    ilp(pt1,pt2,pt3,pt4,pt5) for our example :
    - pt1 and pt2 it's extremity of the line
    - pt3, pt4 and pt5 it's 3 points of the face


    Good luck
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    sevdo2000's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP x86
    Motherboard:
    Asrock NF5 Alive
    CPU:
    Athlon 6000+ X2
    RAM:
    4GB 800 MHZ
    Graphics:
    GF 8800 GT
    Primary Storage:
    250GB Seagate
    Monitor:
    LG 22"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Try "imprint" command. Select 3D solid, select 3D poly and - enter. It makes point on face of 3D solid, and you can break (stretch) poly to these two points (in this case it intersects two faces), can snap points, lines and etc. Luck!

  5. #5
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    763

    Default

    Hmm, I hadn't checked the drawing until now. It's as simple as drawing lines in the top view and trimming the 3D poly.


    Edit: That is for the example which is a very simple rectangular box type solid. A more complex solis will require some UCS manipulation and such. Or perhaps even my original suggestion.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    AutoCAD 2014 - Project to view ( project the curve to the surface of the solid). Then trim the curve with the projected curve.
    EXAMPLE.dwg

Similar Threads

  1. Slice/trim? Solid or surface?
    By byk3bep in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2013, 11:19 am
  2. Slice using network solid
    By Al_H_C in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2012, 03:26 pm
  3. Slice in solid
    By il0veaut0cad in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd May 2011, 11:02 pm
  4. Slice 3d Solid Along An Arc Surface
    By CiCAD in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2011, 10:53 pm
  5. how to slice solid with 3dplane
    By gujde in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2004, 05:55 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts